Skip to main content
State of Alaska

Library Cards: Home

Alaska State Library Cards and Policies

We offer library cards to employees of the State of Alaska, regardless of location, and to qualified people who request a card at our location in the Andrew P. Kashevaroff Building in Juneau, Alaska.   Check the table below to determine whether you qualify for a card.

 

Most Alaska residents qualify for local public library cards, and should check there first for access to resources.  If you live in Alaska but are not sure how to find your local library, you can contact us at asl@alaska.gov with your address, and we'll let you know.  If you live in Alaska and are not served by a local library, you may qualify for the mail services program through the Juneau Public Library. 

User/Card Type Documentation Required* Privileges
Adult resident of Juneau Valid photo ID and proof of Juneau mailing address.
  • Check out up to 40 items
  • Interlibrary loan
  • Alaska’s Digital Library
  • Juneau Public Library electronic resources
  • Renewal required after 1 year
  • Blocked when $10 or more in fines due or 5 items overdue
Temporary local
Plans to be in Juneau at least 28 days
Valid photo ID and working local address.
  • Check out up to 2 items
  • Alaska’s Digital Library
  • Juneau Public Library electronic resources
  • Valid for 180 days
  • Blocked when any fines due or any items overdue
Student
Under age 18
Signed parental responsibility card OR valid photo ID and proof of Juneau mailing address.
  • Check out up to 40 items
  • Interlibrary loan
  • Alaska’s Digital Library
  • Juneau Public Library electronic resources
  • Renewal required after 1 year
  • Blocked when $10 or more in fines due or 5 items overdue
State of Alaska resident
Must register in person at the library in Juneau
Valid photo ID showing Alaska mailing address.
  • Check out up to 5 items
  • Alaska’s Digital Library
  • Juneau Public Library electronic resources
  • Valid for 180 days
  • Blocked when $10 or more in fines due
State employee State of Alaska email and office address.
  • Check out up to 5 items from the State Library (ASL) collection
  • Interlibrary loan
  • Alaska’s Digital Library
  • Renewal required after 1 year
  • Blocked when $10 or more in fines due
  • Contact the State Library to find out about additional resources and services
Legislator Alaska State Library registers each legislator as a library user at the beginning of each legislative session.
  • Check out up to 40 items
  • Interlibrary loan
  • Valid for entire legislative session
  • Alaska’s Digital Library
  • Juneau Public Library electronic resources
  • Legislative staff may use the card.
  • Blocked when $10 more in fines due or 5 items overdue

Use and renewal of card; use of JLC card; lost or stolen cards

  • You may use your library card at all Joint Library Consortium libraries; a list of member libraries is available on our catalog home pageNOTE: State employee cards may only be used to check out Alaska State Library materials and access Alaska’s Digital Library.
  • You may use any card issued by a Joint Library Consortium library at the Alaska State Library.  If you recently moved to Juneau and have a card from another Joint Library Consortium library, visit us with your old card or photo ID and proof of Juneau mailing address and we will update your address and, if you have no outstanding charges against your account, change your home library.
  • You must show a library card, or another form of ID verifying that you are the same individual, at every checkout.  Obtain a PIN to handle many transactions online.
  • Periodic renewal is permitted and required for Adult, Student, and State Employee cards, and can be done in person or over the phone. At the time of renewal, you should verify that the library has your current email address, phone number, and mailing address. 
  • Notify the library of lost or stolen cards as soon as possible, and visit the library in order to obtain another card.  A $2 fee may be assessed for issuance of a new card. 

*Acceptable forms of identification

The following are acceptable forms of photo ID:

  • Valid Alaska driver’s license, learner’s permit, or photo ID obtained from the Div. of Motor Vehicles.
  • Other valid federal, state, or military photo ID.
  • Tlingit/Haida photo ID cards.
  • Unexpired passport.
  • Other current photo ID card containing both a picture and a name, at staff discretion.   

The following may be used to establish a local mailing address if the photo ID does not:

  • Voter registration card.
  • Check with imprinted name and local mailing address.
  • University of Alaska student ID card with valid sticker on reverse side.
  • Any piece of mail delivered to named person at local mailing address, postmarked within the past four weeks (except as noted below**).
  • Receipt to named individual for payment for post office box within the past four weeks.
  • Signed rental agreement or P.O. Box rental receipt made out to the named individual within the past four weeks.

** Transient addresses such as a hotel, the Glory Hole at 247 S. Franklin, the Hostel at 614 Harris, the Auke Bay Campground, Glacier Manor Halfway House at 5597 Aisek St., Polaris House 1705 Anka St., may register only as TEMPORARY LOCAL until a valid mailing address is established by one of the other proofs of mailing address above.