Libraries, Archives, Museums: Alaskan road and highway construction primary sources: Alaska State Archives

Alaska State Archives

The links provided below are to the main search page for the Archives catalog. to view more information about the types and volume of materials found within these groups and series of records, search terms from the titles or descriptions.

Alaska Dept. of Fish and Game. Joint State/Federal Fish & Wildlife Advisory Team Subject files, 1973-1979
Includes files on access roads including photographs.
Alaska Dept. of Natural Resources. Division of Mining, Land, and Water Revised Statute 2477 Historical Research Documents, 1993-
RS 2477 stands for Revised Statuted 2477 from the Mining Act of 1866 which states, "The right-of-way for the construction of highways over public lands, not reserved for public uses, is hereby granted." Since 1993, the Department has received varying levels of funding to pursue research and adjudication for RS 2477 rights-of-way. This series contains papers and maps related to RS 2477 activities.
Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities. Division of Design and Engineering Services Northern Region project files: Pipeline and North Slope Haul Road construction, 1969-1980
Includes construction files, diaries, journals, plans and blueprints.
Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities. Division of Design and Engineering Services Northern and Central Region project photographs and recordings, 1962-1992
Includes photographs and VHS video recordings from various locations in the Northern Region's project areas.
Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities. Commissioner of Public Works Subject files, 1970-1979
Subject files include those on road projects.
Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities. Department of Highways Photographs, Audio Recordings, and Visual Recordings, 1923-1989
Includes photos, film, & audio recordings from the Dept. of Highways, Division of Highways (Dept. of Public Works) and Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities documenting road construction, conditions, routes.
Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities. Department of Highways, Reports 1968-1979
Includes Alaskan road maps and reconnaissance studies regarding an Alaska Peninsula crossing.
Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities. Commissioner of Transportation and Public Facilities Subject files, 1947-2012
Subject files include those on road projects.
Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities. Division of Design and Engineering Services Alaska bridge reports and photographs, 1959-1961
Survey of bridges throughout Alaska, 1959-1961. One-page report/bridge stating physical condition, type of construction, location by highway and grid, date of construction if known. Some reports include black and white photographs.
Alaska Office of the Governor Central Correspondence and Subject files, 1953-2020
Includes files on roads throughout Alaska.
Alaska Office of the Governor. Joint Federal-State Land Use Planning Commission Maps, plats and overlays, 1971-1979
Maps, plats and overlays used by the Joint Federal-State Land Use Planning Commission.
Alaska Road Commission (1905-1956) and Bureau of Public Roads (1956-1961) Maps and construction project drawings, 1904-1957
Original and printed maps, including one of the earliest government-created trails in Alaska, the Valdez-Eagle trail, upgraded to the Valdez-Eagle Wagon Road by the ARC in 1904. This road would become the Richardson Highway. Maps and construction drawings for early roads, trails and bridges in Alaska include concrete, suspension and timber trestle bridges, principle road systems, some U.S. Surveys, cities, townsites, military reservations, homesteads, airfields, airports and proposed airports and many others.
Alaska Bureau of Public Roads (1956-1961) Photographs with reports on roads and bridges along the Copper River, 1953-1955
Contains up to one hundred photographs with paper documentation about road and bridge work along the Copper River by the Bureau of Public Roads.
Alaska Road Commission (1905-1956) and Bureau of Public Roads (1956-1961) Road and trail studies, 1917-1951
Includes reports with maps by the Alaska Road Commission on the following roads/trails: Kushkulana Bridge and Nugget Creek Road, 1917; Sterling Highway; Homer area, 1924; Cantwell area, 1924; Skagway to Carcross, 1951; Kushokwim to Yukon Portage, 1919-1920;
McDougall - Kahiltna - Cache Creek, Knik to Willow, Matanuska Valley Roads, 1916; Nancy - Susitna - Tyonek Trail, 1928; Cold Bay roads, 1923; Livengood Road, 1915-1919; Ruby - Long Road, 1917-1918; Lignite - Kantishna - Tehda - McGrath, 1921-1922; Kodiak - Spruce Cape Mill Bay, 1929; Fort Gibbons - Alatna - Kobak - Nolan, 1924; Big Delta - Tetlin, 1926; Willow Creek - Chicken Creek, 1937; Circle - Eagle Winter Trail, 1926; Paxson - Slate Creek - Chistochina to Gulkana, 1919-1920.
Alaska Road Commission (1905-1956) and Bureau of Public Roads (1956-1961) Road construction photographs and aerial photographs, 1940-1971
Photographs and aerial photographs of road construction projects from US Bureau of Public Roads, Alaska Dept. of Highways, Alaska Road Commission and Air-Tech Photos. Subjects include but not limited to: Edgerton Highway; Richardson - Alaska Highway; Glenn Highway; Sterling Highway; Chena Hot Springs Road.
Alaska Road Commission (1905-1956) and Bureau of Public Roads (1956-1961) Surveyors field books, 1947-1961
Surveying field notebooks from 1958-1961 including the following vicinities: Anchorage, Juneau, Seward, Seldovia, Kenai, Gulkana, Valdez, Skagway, Big Delta, Nabesna, Fairbanks, Tok Junction, Kodiak, and Tanacross. Also contains a work diary of F.E. "Dan" Baxter regarding his inspection of the Cordova and Glenn Highways between 1947-1951.

Credits

This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.