The Alaska Road Commission Collection consists of a brief sketch of the commission's history and copies of miscellaneous materials relating to its activities. The collection also includes a series of 422 photographs depicting Road Commission work in Southcentral Alaska, primarily in the late 1920s through mid 1930s. Subjects include construction activities on the Richardson Highway, Gulkana-Chisana Road, Robe River Road, and Kotsina Road; landscapes and roadhouses found along the roadways; and some aerial views.

The collection documents construction of the Tanana River Bridge in Nenana, Alaska, during the summer of 1967.

The collection consists of 18 letters received by Blache Cascaden from the Alaska Road Commission, Alaskan delegates to the U.S. House of Representatives, the Alaska Railroad, the office of the Secretary of the Interior, and others concerning construction of a road between Fox and Livengood, Alaska. Cascaden lobbied heavily for the road, from 1929 to its completion in 1937.

The collection consists of the diaries of surveyor Earl (Lewis Earl) Grammer for the years 1922 to 1948. They contain his personal thoughts and describe his activities during this time. Topics include oil explorations on the Alaska Peninsula at Bear Creek, Rex Creek, Wide Bay, and the "Cold Bay" region (between Wide Bay and present-day Puale Bay) in the 1920s; placer mining in the Dome Creek area near Fox, Alaska, in 1925; work for the Healy Coal Company in Healy, Alaska, in the 1930s; work for "AGF" in 1928-1930; and road surveys for the Alaska Road Commission in 1933-1935 (Eklutna Road Project, Anchorage-Matanuska Road Survey, Springer Road Survey, Eagle River Hill Survey, and Knik River Bridge).

Raymond was a civil engineer working for the Department of Highways in Alaska. His papers describe his road construction projects in Alaska from 1960-1997.

The bulk of the collection includes financial and administrative records from the operations of the company as well as materials generated from the work Hubbell & Waller performed for their clients which included street and road projects.

The Jeanette Huddleston Photograph Collection consists of 63 images. They depict road construction and other scenes along the Richardson Highway from the late 1920s through the 1930s and scenes along that highway and in Valdez, Alaska, in the early 1950s.

The Woodrow Johansen Papers consist of 1080 photographs relating primarily to the Alaska Road Commission and road and bridge construction and maintenance in Interior Alaska, 1925-1954. Woodrow Johansen (1913-1991), a civil engineer, had a long career with the Alaska Road Commission and Alaska Department of Transportation.

The Lee S. Linck Papers consist of materials relating to Linck's firm, Alaska Architectural and Engineering Company, based in Fairbanks, Alaska. The business specialized in constructing buildings, roads, and utilities in Alaska's arctic and subarctic climate. The collection includes correspondence, professional records, biographical information on Linck, and photographs of Fairbanks buildings.

The Donald MacDonald Family Papers consist of correspondence, photographs, maps, and publications related primarily to MacDonald's career as a road engineer and his role in the construction of the Alaska Highway.

The Northern Alaska Environmental Center Records contain administrative documents as well as subject files relating to the various environmental issues the Center has engaged in since its creation in 1971. Issues documented include the the North Slope Haul Road.

The collection consists of a diary kept by Elmer Parkison in the winter of 1968 to 1969 while he and his crew were constructing an ice road from Livengood to Prudhoe Bay, Alaska. The ice road predated the Dalton Highway by several years and was used to transport supplies to the new oil fields. Parkison kept a record of construction progress, daily tasks, and temperatures.

The Roy Austin Parks Photographs contain images of the Eielson Air Force Base area, specifically near mile 26 of the Richardson Highway, and the work performed on an unidentified project or projects.

Revised Statute 2477 was an amendment passed in 1866 granting rights-of-way to Alaskans, over public lands, for access purposes such as trails, paths, pioneer access roads, or connecting links between communities. The statute was repealed in 1976, but the grandfather rights to the rights-of-way were not extinguished. Research began in 1992 to identify and research trails which might qualify as rights-of-way under RS 2477. The project was expanded in 1993, and more than 1,200 trails were researched. The RS 2477 Project Collection consists of files documenting five hundred and sixty-seven historic trails that may qualify as public rights-of-way under Revised Statute 2477, establishing the historic nature of each of the trails.

The Richardson Trail Project was undertaken in 1974-1975 to develop display materials photographically documenting (1) the early history of the Richardson Trail and Richardson Highway and (2) current conditions along that same route. This collection consists primarily of the photographs taken in 1975, many of them well identified, supplemented with a brief description of the project, lists of historic roadhouses along the route, a copy of the text used in the final display, and a small amount of project correspondence. The images are in the form of negatives, contact proof sheets, slides, and photographic prints.

The collection includes construction photographs of the George Parks Highway.

The collection contains photographs, slides, and film documenting the construction of the Hickel Highway Ice Road as part of the construction of the Trans-Alaska Pipeline.

The collection consists of 625 color transparencies for three slide shows concerning construction of the Dalton Highway and Trans-Alaska Oil Pipeline and typed transcripts of narratives that accompany the slide shows. The collection also includes a videotape of two narrated slide shows concerning the Dalton Highway and Trans-Alaska Pipeline; a copy of the book Alaska's Last Great Gold Rush, by Edna Arend Witcher; and research materials assembled by Witcher while writing the book. The book concerns Witcher's career as highway engineer and her experiences on the Dalton Highway and Trans-Alaska Pipeline construction projects.

The Everett P. Wood Papers consist of correspondence and newspaper clippings documenting Wood's successful efforts to have Alaska included in the Federal Highway Program. Everett P. Wood (1901-1995), president of Yukon Equipment, Inc., in Fairbanks, was instrumental in acquiring federal funding for roads in Alaska.

The John Zug album contains photographs of roads, trails, bridges, railroads, and roadhouses throughout Alaska, as well as views of Fairbanks, Valdez, Tatitlek, Chatanika, Iditarod, Seldovia, Juneau, Nome, and other Alaskan communities in the years 1905-1918. A number of the images are by photographers P. S. Hunt and Lomen Brothers.