Libraries, Archives, Museums: News and Weather: News / Weather

News and Weather

Alaska 511
Traveler information from the Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities. Alaska 511 includes current weather and road conditions, tips, and handy links to resources for travelers in Alaska.
Alaska Earthquake Information Center
From the UAF Geophysical Institute, includes information about earthquakes and earthquake preparedness, in addition to mapping recent earthquakes in Alaska.
Alaska Newspaper Project
Find links to a limited number of full-text, pre-1923, Alaska newspapers, as well as to Fairbanks area and Juneau Empire indexes and the full book, Alaska Newspapers on Microfilm, 1866-1998.
Alaska Region Headquarters, National Weather Service
Current Alaska weather information and forecasts.
Alaska's Road Weather Information System
From the Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities, includes weather cams, data, and forecasts.
Chronicling America
Digitized newspapers from around the country, including a growing number of early Alaskan newspapers.

Fairbanks and Juneau Area Newspaper Indexes
Fairbanks area indexing coverage varies within 1901-1975 and Juneau Empire indexing covers 1/20/1990-1/30/1999.

Weather from the Alaska Climate Research Center
See current weather and forecasts for weather stations around the state. Click on WX Forecast Maps for a really cool active weather model.
Weather Information for Visitors to Alaska
From the Alaska Climate Research Center.

Additional SLED Databases

Newspaper Source Plus Full text articles from US and international newspapers, as well as radio and television news transcripts.
Regional Business News Current news on industries around the world.

Can't Get into a Database?

If you get a page with "SLED Databases" at the top and an ask for username and password, read on!

If you're an Alaska resident with an Alaskan area code, call 1-800-440-2919 for a password. Note that this may not work if caller ID is disabled, as apparently the system can't tell that you're calling from Alaska. Otherwise, Alaska residents can fill out our form to receive a password.

Fill out the form completely so we can verify your Alaska residency. We must do this for our vendors.

Need help with other SLED issues?