The list below contains institutions in the state of Alaska that have materials relating to the Canol Pipeline. The list is in alphabetical order by institution name. If an online guide to the collection is available, it is linked below. Otherwise the holding institution's main website or searchable catalog is linked. This list may not be comprehensive, so please contact the institutions individually regarding other Canol Pipeline related material. If you are with a repository that holds publicly accessible collections related to the Canol Pipeline that are not reflected in this list, please contact us at uaa_archives@alaska.edu. 

Alaska Moving Image Preservation Association

• U.S. Army Corp of Engineers (COE) collection: COE 021, COE 022, COE 042.

Alaska State Archives

• One folder in RG 101 - Office of the District and Territorial Governor. Series 727—General correspondence, 1934-1953. VS 459—“1942-1952 Federal Government—Department of the Interior—International Highway—International Railroad”
• Folder title: RG101 40-3 Department of Interior (4) International Highway 1943-1946 459-1

Alaska State Library Historical Collections

• Uncle Matt's photograph album. PCA-0416. Includes photographs of the Canol Pipeline.

 Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center

• Robert Ewing Alaska Highway Construction Photographs. B2012.026.53 [Greyhound bus of the Northwest Service Command that has gone off the side of the road, possibly CANOL; “Canol 3006”stenciledon bus door, and number W4317414 on hood; eight unidentified men are in the picture].
• Joseph G. Rich Alaska Highway Collection. B2015.00.  Ephemera- article - “Arctic oil: first view of Army’s $134,000 Canol project may be last as Congress ponders abandoning it.” Clipping from Life, 15(26), December 27, 1943, p. 21
• B2011.035.  Film: Twin Trails to Victory (Alcan-Canol) 800’, monochrome, optical, 16mm. The original can for this film, found in the unaccessioned backlog, bears a label from the Caterpillar Tractor Co., Peoria, Illinois, titling the film “Twin Trails to Victory,” while the leader carries the text “Alcan-Canol.”
• Vertical File Folder: Canol (Pipeline) A copy of an address by Commissioner Collins on the taking over of the Yukon section of the Canol Pipeline on March 31st, 1960; Press Release from Headquarters United States Army, Alaska talking about the brief transfer ceremony at Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, of the American built Canol Pipelines, from the U.S. Army to Canada.

UAA/APU Consortium Library Archives and Special Collections

• Charles W. Arvidson photographs. HMC-0567. Photographs taken during the construction of the Canol Pipeline. Subjects include construction camps along the Canol Road, welding crews working on the pipeline, a crew erecting telegraph poles, and area scenery. Camps identified include those at Johnson’s Crossing and miles 127, 177, 236, 268, and 276 of the pipeline or road.
• Charles V. Baxter papers. HMC-1033-AHS. Canol Pipeline-related papers and photographs of Charles V. Baxter. The collection contains: technical information concerning the Canol Pipeline, reports and charts of pumping, tanks, gas, and water flow kept by Baxter.  Subjects of the photographs include winter and summer conditions along the pipeline, construction camps, equipment, work crews, heavy equipment, bridges, and geographic features of the surrounding area. Photographs and post cards of an engineer are also included.
• Omer D. Clark Canol Pipeline construction photographs. HMC-0642. Photographs of the construction of the Canol Pipeline construction including photographs of scenery, workers, construction camps, vehicles, heavy machinery, barges, boats, airplanes, and bridges, as well as oil drilling and storage facilities. Most of the photographs are from numbered sets of prints.
• John Andrew Higgins papers. HMC-0538. The 63 page scrapbook contains clippings, photographs, and personal items concerning Higgins’ activities from 1942-1946.  The 158 photographs and 6 negatives include scenes from the building of the Alaska Highway; coworkers, construction and supply facilities, and the CANOL oil refinery in Whitehorse, Yukon Territory.  Also included are images of Camp Canol, Whitehorse, and other scenic images of the Whitehorse area.
• Robert and Wilma Knox papers. HMC-0461.The collection consists of clipping and scrapbooks, photographs, publications, and other materials documenting Robert and Wilma Knox’s life and journalism work in Alaska and elsewhere. The collection includes photographs of the Canol Road, most likely taken in the early 1970s.
• William L. Matthews papers. HMC-1043-AHS.The collection contains photographs and a letter relating to the Canol Pipeline construction. The photographs consist of original black and white prints, including panoramic views, as well as colored and black and white commercial prints and photo postcards. It also includes a letter written from Bechtel-Price-Callahan to William L. Matthews, dated July 1, 1944, commending him for his efforts in the Canol Pipeline construction with an “Award of Service.”
• Jerome F. Sheldon papers. HMC-0220.Correspondence mentioning the Canol Pipeline project from news editor Jerome Sheldon who also worked on building the Alaska Highway, dated 1981 & 1985.
• C. Wilbert Alaska Highway construction photographs. HMC-0494. This collection documents the construction of the Alaska Highway in the 1940s. Several photographs were taken along the Canol Road at Dodo Canyon and Camp Canol.
• Betzi and Lyman Woodman papers. HMC-0353. The collection contains the personal papers, writing files, and photographs of Alaskan journalists and free-lance writers, Betzi and Lyman Woodman. Included in the collection are writing drafts, notes, correspondence, subject files related to their various projects and publications, and sound recordings. The photographs and slides contain images of the Canol pipeline, a draft of a historical article, and a copy of an Army Corps of Engineers report on the project.

University of Alaska Fairbanks Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives

The following collection guides can be accessed through StarArchives (the archival collection catalog for UAF Alaska and Polar Regions Collections), by searching the collection name in the search box on the main page.

• Parker, Donald photograph album. Photograph album of portraying the development states of the CANOL Pipeline.
• Heins, Harry photograph album. The photograph album documents the building of the Canol Highway. The collection also includes several permits and licenses needed to travel at the time, and several books on the Alcan Highway.
• McCarthy, James E. and Elizabeth Collection. This Collection consists of one scrapbook of material relating to the McCarthys' years working for the Standard Oil Company and the Canol Project in Canada's Yukon, 1944-1945.
• Canol Pipeline Project Album, Candace Waugaman Collection. This photograph album depicts construction of the Canol Pipeline, or Canadian Oil Pipeline during World War II. Images include civilian workers, military personnel, construction equipment, Quonset huts, military encampments, aerial photographs, and Yukon Territory landscapes.
• Vanderburg, Willis G. Photographs. The collections consists of 61 black-and-white photographs and 129 color slides taken by Vanderburg while employed as a war correspondent in Alaska and northwestern Canada in 1943. The photographs document construction of the CANOL pipeline and the Alaska Highway.
• Memoirs and Reminiscences Collection. This is an artificial collection containing memoirs and reminiscences of many individuals on various topics. The collection contains two folders of memoirs of men who worked on the Canol Pipeline: McCutchan, Blaine and Browne, Ralph H.
• Correll, Donovan S. Collection. The Donovan S. Correll Collection consists of correspondence, notes, maps, and publications concerning the botany of northern regions. It also includes clippings concerning the CANOL project.

Other resources

Alaska's Digital Archives

Alaska's Digital Archives contains documents, photographs, moving images, audio, and physical objects from various archives, libraries, and museums throughout Alaska. Selected images from some of the collections listed above can be found on Alaska's Digital Archives by searching "Canol".