Skip to main content

Whaling in Alaska primary sources

Whaling in Alaska

This guide consists of collections of primary source material held by Alaskan archives, libraries, and museums which relate to whaling in Alaska. This guide is an overview of collections containing significant amounts of material relating to whaling and is not meant to be comprehensive or include every collection containing material related to the topic. 

Click on the linked collection names for more detailed descriptions of the collections. Not every collection listed has a description online. For more information about a collection, please contact the institution that owns the collection.

SLED also has a general purpose guide which includes primary and secondary sources relating to whaling in Alaska. Other institutions outside of Alaska, such as the New Bedford Whaling Museum in New Bedford, Massachusetts, may also hold records relating to whaling activities. 

Alaska's Digital Archives has digitized photographs and documents relating to whaling in Alaska, some of which are from collections listed below. The Digital Archives contains moving images, audio, photographs, and documents from various repositories in the state of Alaska and is not its own repository. Please contact the appropriate holding institution for more information about an item or to request an item found on Alaska's Digital Archives.

If you represent an institution that holds primary source material related to whaling activities in Alaska and you would like to see it included in this guide, please contact the UAA/APU Consortium Library Archives and Special Collections.

Alaska Moving Image Preservation Association

The Alaska Moving Image Preservation Association, located in Anchorage, Alaska, may have audio, film, and video in their collections relating to whaling in Alaska. Please contact them for further information. 

Alaska State Archives

The collections listed below are available in the Alaska State Archives in Juneau, Alaska. Further information regarding the collections listed below is by searching the State Archives online catalog using the records group name (i.e. "RG257").

Alaska State Library Historical Collections

The collections listed below are available in the Alaska State Library Alaska Historical Collections in Juneau, Alaska. A majority of the collections listed have links to collection guides that provide further information regarding the contents of those collections. 

Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center

The collections listed below are available at the Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, located in Anchorage, Alaska. The collections listed have links to collection guides that provide further information regarding the contents of those collections. 

Inupiat Heritage Center

The Inupiat Heritage Center, located in Utqiagvik (formerly known as Barrow), Alaska, has multiple taped interviews of individuals, as well as photographs and film of whaling festivals and whale harvesting. Descriptions of these items can be found by searching their catalog

UAA/APU Consortium Library Archives and Special Collections

The collections listed below are available at the UAA/APU Archives and Special Collections in Anchorage, Alaska. The collections listed have links to collection guides that provide further information regarding the contents of those collections. 

University of Alaska Fairbanks Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives Historical Manuscript Collections

The collections listed below are available at the University of Alaska Fairbanks Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives located in Fairbanks, Alaska. For more detailed collection descriptions, please visit StarArchives, the catalog for archival collections at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, and search for the collections using the search box on the main page.

University of Alaska Fairbanks Alaska Film Archives

The list below includes collections held by the University of Alaska Fairbanks Alaska Film Archives located in Fairbanks, Alaska.

Credits

This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.