Skip to main content

Alaska Native organizations primary sources

This guide provides information regarding collections of publicly accessible primary source material related to Alaska Native organizations.

Alaska Native corporations and organizations

This guide consists of collections of primary source material held by Alaskan archives, libraries, and museums which relate to Alaska Native corporations, tribal, cultural, and other organizations. This guide is an overview of collections containing significant amounts of material relating to these organizations and is not meant to be comprehensive or include every collection containing material related to the topic. 

Click on the linked collection names for more detailed descriptions of the collections. Not every collection listed has a description online. For more information about a collection, please contact the institution that owns the collection.

If you represent an institution that holds publicly available primary source material related to Alaska Native organizations and you would like to see it included in this guide, please contact the UAA/APU Consortium Library Archives and Special Collections.

Collections

General collections

The collections listed in this section have materials about many different Alaska Native organizations. The links provided will take you to extended collection descriptions and inventories or to the website of the repository that holds the collection. Please direct any questions about specific archival collections to the holding repository.

Collections by organization

The links provided in the sections below will take you to extended collection descriptions and inventories or to the website of the repository that holds the collection. Please direct any questions about specific archival collections to the holding repository. Please note that these are not generally links to the organizations themselves but to repositories that have archival collections related to the organization. If you have general questions about an organization on this list, you may want to contact the organization directly.

Alaska Federation of Natives

Alaska Federation of Natives, International

Alaska Native Arts and Crafts Clearing House

Alaska Native Association of Oregon

Alaska Native Brotherhood and Sisterhood records

Alaska Native Education Association

Bristol Bay Native Association

Central Council of the Tlingit and Haida Indians of Alaska

Fairbanks Native Association

Hoonah Clan Conference

Interior Village Association

KCAW Raven Radio of Sitka

Klukwan, Inc.

KSTK Radio of Wrangell

Sealaska Corporation

Shee Atika Inc.

Thirteenth Regional Corporation

Tundra Times newspaper

Credits

Institute of Museum and Library Services

This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.