Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News Room: Press Releases

There's always a lot going on in Juneau and Sitka. Check back often for new press releases and mentions in the news.

Alaska State Historical Records Advisory Board Awards 2013 Archival Certificates of Excellence

by LAM Webmaster on 2013-10-04T08:00:00-08:00 in Archives | Comments

JUNEAU – On September 26, the Alaska State Historical Records Advisory Board (ASHRAB) awarded Arlene Schmuland and Michael Catoggio archival Certificates of Excellence for their impressive Great Alaska Earthquake of 1964 Project. Schmuland is the Head of Archives & Special Collections at the University of Alaska Anchorage Consortium Library. Catoggio served as the Project Archivist.

Schmuland and Cattogio collaborated statewide with many institutions, organizations, and individuals that resulted in images, information, and first-hand accounts of the earthquake to be placed on its website commemorating the 50th anniversary of the earthquake that occurred March 27, 1964. Over 600 images of the earthquake are available in digital form for the first time.

The ASHRAB also chose the Michael E. Krauss Alaska Native Language Archive (ANLA) at the Elmer E. Rasmuson Library, University of Alaska Fairbanks under its innovative archival project category. For this project staff collected and digitized its holdings, including source documents related to various native languages of Alaska to make this diverse linguistic heritage widely available to international scholars and students. The ANLA has placed its language recordings, linguistic materials and documents collections online. Michael E. Krauss is the founder of the collection who worked for several decades to establish the most comprehensive indigenous languages resource in the world.

The ASHRAB, coordinated by the State Archivist, is a 9-member Governor-appointed state board. The ASHRAB believes that the collection and preservation of historical records, Alaska’s priceless legacy, are fundamental to understanding our past and guiding our future. This was the ASHRAB’s third year recognizing archival excellence among several worthy nominations.

 Add a Comment



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.