RG330.

RG257.

RG265.

RG260.

RG261.

RG 263, Series 554.

RG272

RG245, Series 1262.

RG279.

RG315.

RG140.

RG137.

RG642.

MS 128. Marcus Jensen was a professional hunting guide and chairman of the Guide Licensing & Control Board. The collection includes files related to subsistence issues.

MS 4-37-2. diary of a young Inupiat school girl named Alva Nashoalook, who relates events in her daily life in Icy Cape. The dates given are June [27], 1912 through April 1, 1913 Subjects include walrus and seal hunting, trapping, reindeer, and other subsistence activities.

PCA 320. The collection consists of photographic prints and lantern slides taken at Point Barrow. The bulk of the images relate to whaling and other activities associated with the hunt, such as preparation for the hunt, butchering, and celebration following the hunt.

PCA-306. Photographs from two educational supervisors who traveled to various communities throughout Alaska, some of which include depictions of traditional subsistence activities.

PCA 371. Images include subsistence activities (seal hunting, drying salmon).

MS 278. Papers of a man who worked as the Assistant Special Agent of the Treasury Department on the Pribilof Islands. His reports include sections about seal hunting.

MS 4-13-4. Notes from two anthropology students who traveled to Hooper Bay. The notes contain information on local hunting practices.

MS 4-33-10. Joseph relates the story of the Aukquon, the Auk tribe of Tlingit Indians, beginning at Stikine River in the Fifteenth Century. He mentions settlements at Auke Bay and Taku Inlet, seal hunting at Young's Bay and the river formed when the Taku Glacier dammed up the river. Joseph includes some family history and lineage.

PCA 59. The slides show the lives and culture of the Eskimos on Little Diomede and Buckland. Many of the families and individuals are identified. Traditional activities such as walrus hunting, skinning, burial customs, the schools and school children, sod homes, fishing are depicted and the narrative offers history and additional information. A recorded narrative and transcription accompany the slides. Slide No. 1-58 (Part 1) depict their time in Buckland and Nos. 3-77 (Part 2) were taken in Little Diomede. The numbering in the Little Diomede index reflects the omission of some slides.

PCA 262. Most of the photographs were taken and captioned by Dave Brower. They depict Barrow events, whaling, hunting, Eskimo culture, the Brower family and friends and seven photographs of Charles and Anne Lindbergh with their airplane at Barrow, 1931.

MS 6. Journals and letters of a trading post operator, some of which describe hunting practices of the Dena’ina. Most of the collection is in Russian, with some translations into English.

PCA 128. The collection includes images of seal hunting.

MS 276. Diaries and letters from a man from Gambell, St. Lawrence Island who conducted ethnographic research on the Bering Strait and northern Alaska. The materials may include information about subsistence practices.

MS 90. Papers of a woman who lived and prospected for gold in various locations around Alaska. The collection includes descriptions of subsistence activities she and her family engaged in while living in relatively remote areas.

MS 4-38-8. Correspondence between the school teachers Jim and Geri Baenen and Mary Harris between early October, 1971 and mid-March, 1972. Topics about village life include child rearing, salmon fishing and preservation, and village activities.