Libraries, Archives, Museums: Alaskan aerial photographs: Alaska State Archives

Alaska State Archives

The items below are linked to the main Alaska State Archives website. For more information about the materials listed, contact the State Archives. Additional or more current materials may still be held by individual state agency offices.

Alaska Dept. of Fish and Game. Commercial Fisheries Management and Development Division Susitna Hydroelectric project aquatic studies photographs and slides, 1977-1985
This contains approximately 100 aerial photographs of the Susitna area.
Alaska Dept. of Fish and Game. Joint State/Federal Fish & Wildlife Advisory Team records, 1970-1979
The Division of Habitat coordinated state functions for the Joint State/Federal Fish & Wildlife Advisory Team for the pipeline and North Slope Haul Road from 1974 through 1979. Records include pre-construction and post-construction aerial photographs, and aerial blueline maps.
Alaska Dept. of Transportation and Public Facilities. Division of Buildings Photographs of buildings and aerial photographs of False Pass quadrangle, Aleutian Islands, 1962
Contains approximately 150 aerial black and white photographs of the False Pass quadrangle, which is near Unimak Island. Photos were shot at an elevation of 20,000 ft., and during June 1962. Photos show coastlines, mountain ranges, drainages, and other.
Alaska Office of the Governor. Joint Federal-State Land Use Planning Commission Subject files, 1971-1979
Includes aerial photographs.
Alaska Office of the Governor. Washington D.C. Field Office Rural Alaska Airport overhead slides, 1968-1990
Aerial and ground level photographs of airports and related facilities in communities throughout Alaska. Includes communities as large as Anchorage and as small as Chefornak. Most images appear to date from about 1990, but a few are reproductions of earlier photographs.
Alaska Railroad Corporation. Engineer files, 1948-1971
The Engineer files contain a variety of aerial photographs, primarily of rail line areas. One grouping of photographs specifically relates to rail lines after the 1964 Alaska earthquake.
Alaska Road Commission (1905-1956) and Bureau of Public Roads (1956-1961) Aerial photographs, 1948-1954
Although some of the images are unlabeled, some contain the abbreviated letters of "SEA" which appear to show Southeast Alaska. Some images are indentifiable, such as aerials of Fairbanks. One folder is labeled Big Delta and shows the area around present day town of Big Delta. Most of the images are dated, most being dated 1954.
Alaska Road Commission (1905-1956) and Bureau of Public Roads (1956-1961) Road construction photographs and aerial photographs, 1940-1963
Photographs and aerial photographs of road construction projects from US Bureau of Public Roads, Alaska Dept. of Highways, Alaska Road Commission and Air-Tech Photos. Subjects include but are not limited to: Edgerton Highway; Richardson - Alaska Highway; Glenn Highway; Sterling Highway; Chena Hot Springs Road; Marine Highway; Sitka Ferry Terminal; Skagway - Carcross - Haines; secondary roads.

Credits

This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.