Libraries, Archives, Museums: Land surveying, mapping, and boundaries primary source collections: Alaska State Archives

Alaska State Archives

The links provided with listings below are to the Alaska State Archives page for researchers. The Archives catalog is linked on that site. This is not a comprehensive list of all materials created by state agencies which have been transferred to the State Archives relating to these subjects. You may wish to search in the catalog for additional materials. Some state agencies may retain similar records in office.

Alaska Road Commission (1905-1956) and Bureau of Public Roads (1956-1961) Maps and construction drawings, 1904-1957
Maps and construction drawings for early roads, trails and bridges in Alaska include concrete, suspension and timber trestle bridges, principle road systems, some U.S. Surveys, cities, townsites, military reservations, homesteads, airfields, airports and proposed airports and many others.
Alaska Dept. of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. Alaska Local Boundary Commission action files, 1959-2016
Local Boundary Commission Action Files includes incorporations, annexations, reapportionment, additional powers, reclassifications, detachments, dissolutions, public comments/notices, reports, decisions and minutes of Local Boundary Commission hearings/meetings
Alaska Dept. Of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. Alaska Railroad Corporation Chief Engineer engineering drawings, maps, 1891-1990
This sub-series consists of engineering and technical drawings, surveys, maps, blueprints, and charts relating to construction and operation of the Alaska Railroad. Included are plans, profiles, and sketches. Media includes vellum, linen, mylar, and blueline prints. Some are as-built drawings and others are simply design drawings.
Alaska Dept. of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. Alaska Railroad Corporation Chief Engineer subject files on stations, 1940-1959
Station files include; Eielson Branch, Bluff, Mile 8, and Julius stations. Includes maps and surveys
Alaska Dept. of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. Alaska Railroad Corporation General Manager subject files, 1944-1956
Contains files on the Eska Mine for 1944-1956, and includes maps, blueprints, and surveys.
Alaska Dept. of Fish and Game. Joint State/Federal Fish and Wildlife Advisory Team records, 1974-1979
The Division of Habitat coordinated state functions for the Joint State/Federal Fish & Wildlife Advisory Team for the pipeline and North Slope Haul Road from 1974 through 1979. Records include general office and reading files; preconstruction aerial photographs, photographs and slides, environmental and technical reports, budget material, oil spill contingency plans, field activity reports, alignment sheets, fish and stream information, environmental impact statements, right-of-way widths monumentation surveys, maps.
Alaska Dept. of Natural Resources. Division of Mining, Land, and Water Survey project case files (cadastral, tideland, land), 1981-1984
Records series consists of the work products of the various types of surveys (tideland, cadastral, land) produced either in-house or by a contractor and includes correspondence, monument rubbings, field notes and computations for the survey.
Alaska Dept. of Natural Resources. Division of Mining, Land, and Water Tidelands surveys, 1960-1989
Surveys span the state, each folder focuses on a specific site and includes maps, fieldnotes, photographs, and correspondence.
Alaska Dept. of Natural Resources. Division of Mining, Land, and Water Southeast Alaska cadastral, tideland, land surveys, 1894-2007
Surveys, maps, and plats.
Alaska Dept. of Natural Resources. State Recorder's Office Recorder volumes
Mining locations.
Alaska Office of the District and Territorial Governor List of land ownership across Alaska, circa 1925
Once box of files which show which show land ownership across Alaska by name, type of land, land status, and other information about land. This includes homesteads, reserve lands, tribal lands, lands held by businesses, churches, schools, cities, and other.
Alaska Office of the Governor Central correspondence and subject files, 1958-1968
Subject files contain files on surveys and planning related to roads and other public works.
Alaska Office of the Governor. Joint Federal-State Land Use Planning commission Maps, plats and overlays, 1971-1979
Maps, plats and overlays used by the Joint Federal-State Land Use Planning Commission.

Credits

This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.