HMC-1174. The collection contains the records relating to the Alaska Rural Rehabilitation Corporation Matanuska Colony Project. The collection includes tract plats and surveying information.

HMC-1197. The collection contains 35 survey drawings on mylar depicting locations within and near Seward, Alaska. The survey drawings are based on a local coordinate system developed by Mr. Burgess.

HMC-1186. Professional papers of a surveyor from the Matanuska Susitna area.

HMC-0744. Francis Cogswell was a captain in the Navy. In 1935, Captain Cogswell commanded the U.S.S. Oglala, which assisted the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey in charting the Aleutian Islands. The collection contains the photograph album of Captain Cogswell, which documents his service during the Aleutian Islands Survey Expedition of 1935.

HMC-0108. Fred Fickett was a soldier and member of the army exploratory expedition to the Alaska interior in 1885. While the collection consists primarily to Fickett’s life and activities from 1876-1890, the collection does contain records pertaining to his stay in Alaska and his participation in the exploratory expedition under Henry Allen in 1885.

HMC-0116. Edwin Glenn was a U.S. Army officer in charge of explorations in southcentral Alaska from 1898-1899. The collection contains Glenn’s journal, reports, and photographs of his Cook Inlet expedition.

The collection contains materials related to projects in which Mr. Hoffman, a surveyor, was involved. These include: photographs and tapes from the Dinkum Sands case between the State of Alaska and the U. S. Government; Capitol Site Selection Committee photographs, slide show script, and film; conference presentation documents; and microfilm, digital images, and correspondence related to a statewide project on historical surveys of Alaska.

HMC-0166-APU. A. G. Maddren was a geologist and photographer with the United States Geological Survery (USGS), Maddren worked in Alaska for numerous USGS expeditions. The collection consists of photographs taken by Maddren during his expedition in Alaska.

HMC-1185. Professional papers of a surveyor working primarily in the Matanuska Susitna area. These include survey field books, research files, and maps and plans. Surveys include the original Matanuska Valley Colony sites done with Anton Anderson, highways throughout southcentral Alaska, and various utility projects.

The collection contains a variety of materials related to Mr. Olson’s work as a surveyor in Alaska and northern Canada on the White Alice communications system, part of the DEW (Distant Early Warning) line. The majority of the collection is comprised of 35mm color slides taken at a variety of White Alice sites.

HMC-1126. George Putnam worked for the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey. He served on Yukon Delta surveying expeditions in 1898-1899. The collection contains digitized photographs of Putnam’s surveying expeditions in Alaska.

The collection consists of materials pertaining to the short courses, “The ABCs of Remote Parcels” and “Researching the Record,” presented at the Alaska Surveying and Mapping Conferences in 1986 and 1988, respectively. The materials include background information and research materials, such as state regulations; notes; transparencies; course agendas; and VHS tapes of “The ABCs of Remote Parcels.”

Walter Todd worked as a surveyor for the Alaska Engineering Commission’s Alaska railroad project from 1915 to 1918, primarily at the Potter Creek area south through Portage Valley. This collection consists of Walter Todd’s five daily diaries dating from 1915 to 1918. He discusses his work with the railroad, socializing, and makes daily weather notes.

HMC-1226. Thomas Wilson was a petroleum geologist and assisted with oil exploration and geological surveys in many areas of Alaska, including Cook Inlet, the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR), and the North Slope. While the collection contains a variety of records relating to his work, the collection also includes survey maps.