Libraries, Archives, Museums: Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act primary sources: UAF Rasmuson Library, Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives

Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives

This page is divided into three sections: the Archives, the Film Archives, and the Oral History Program.The links provided in the Film Archives and the Oral History Program sections are to the main websites for those departments which include a link to the Alaska Library catalog where information about their holdings can be found. To view more information about the collections or items listed, search terms from the titles or descriptions.

Archives (manuscript and photograph collections)

The links provided in the Film Archives section are to the main search page for the Archives catalog. To view more information about the collections or items listed, search terms from the titles or descriptions.

H. David Evans Papers, 1975-1986, 2018
This collection contains H. David Evans's correspondence and notes on subsistence life in the Yukon-Charley area during the 1970s and 1980s with some reference to conditions in the 1930s. It also covers some of Evans's efforts to prevent ANILCA creating the Yukon-Charley Rivers National Preserve.
Northern Alaska Environmental Center Records, 1971-1999
The Center has represented northern environmental concerns in the ANILCA land battles.The collection contains administrative documents as well as subject files relating to the various environmental issues the Center has engaged in.
Stan Senner Papers, 1975-1982
The Stan Senner papers are generated from his work on the Alaska Lands Bill from 1975-1982, either in the capacity of his service for the Fairbanks Environmental Center, the Alaska Coalition, the Wilderness Society, or as a staff member for the Merchant Marine subcommittee of the U.S. House of Representatives. Materials include correspondence, memoranda, position papers, reports, mark up legislation, fact sheets and summaries for lobbying purposes, hearing testimony transcripts, lobbying tasking, news releases, workshop materials, maps, newsclippings, and a few photographs.
Robert B. Weeden Papers. 1957-1981
This collection contains Weeden's correspondence, articles, and legislation dealing with t lands and environmental issues. Much of the file is environmental conservation advocacy material accumulated by Weeden during his presidency of the Alaska Conservation Society, and his attempts to influence legislation both in Alaska and Washington, D.C.

The links provided in the Film Archives section are to the main websites for those departments which include a link to the Alaska Library catalog where information about their holdings can be found. To view more information about the collections or items listed, search terms from the titles or descriptions.

Alaska joint federal-state land use planning commission hearings, 1973
Recordings of land use commission hearings at locations across Alaska.
Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act Congressional S-9 hearings, October 1979.
Congressional hearings held at the Alaska Senate and recordings were presented to the Senate Resource Committee.

Oral History Program

The links provided in the Oral History Program section for the individual interviews and conference recordings are to the main websites for the Oral History program. This site includes a link to the Alaska Library catalog where information about their holdings can be found. To view more information about the collections or items listed, search terms from the titles or descriptions.The Project Jukebox listings are linked to the pages for those projects.

Individual interviews mentioning ANILCA:
Laura Cross interview, 1991
Dave Hickok interview, 1985
Niilo Koponen interview, 1985
Riley Morry interview, 1990
Frank Murkowski interview, 2006
Walter B. Parker interview, 2005
Jim Pepper interview, 1991
Jack Reakoff interview, 2008
Jack Roderick interview, 2009
Esther Wunnicke interview, 1985
Research in federally reserved lands in Northwest Alaska symposium recordings, 1987. Several speakers at the symposium, part of the 1987 Arctic Science Conference, discuss ANILCA-related matters.
Several speakers at the symposium, part of the 1987 Arctic Science Conference, discuss ANILCA-related matters.
Gates of the Arctic National Park Project Jukebox
This project contains oral history interviews and photographs from Native and non-Native people who live near or have been associated with the Gates of the Arctic National Park and Preserve, located in the central Brooks Range of northern Alaska.
Wrangell-St. Elias National Park and Preserve Project Jukebox
This project contains oral history interviews and photographs from Native and non-Native people who live near or have been associated with Wrangell-St. Elias National Park in south-central Alaska.
Yukon-Charley Rivers National Preserve Project Jukebox
The Yukon-Charley Rivers National Preserve Project Jukebox is comprised of 36 oral history interviews that were conducted in 1991 with a wide range of people involved with, or impacted by the creation of Yukon-Charley Rivers National Preserve.

Credits

This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.