This collection consists of a copy of a report titled "A Construction History of Sitka, Alaska, as Documented in the Records of the Russian-American Company" by Katherine L. Arndt and Richard Pierce. The documents selected for this volume were translated in full, even though they may contain information that is extraneous to the stated topic. Therefore in addition to a construction history, there are glimpses of everyday life in Novo-Arkhangel'sk (Sitka) and the colonies.

This collection contains articles listed in James Wickersham's "A bibliography of Alaskan literature, 1724-1924; containing the titles of all histories, travels, voyages, newspapers, periodicals, public documents, etc., printed in English, Russian, German, French, Spanish, etc., relating to, descriptive of, or published in Russian America or Alaska, from 1724 to and including 1924".

This collection includes documentation of the sale of Russian-American Company to Hutchinson, Kohl & Company, which would later become the Alaska Commercial Company.

The Fugitive Papers on Alaska and the Arctic consist of eight scrapbooks containing miscellaneous, or fugitive, newspaper and journal clippings relating to Alaska and the North. The collection also includes three volumes of typed transcriptions of selected materials from the scrapbooks. Some of the papers in the collections relate to Russian involvement in Alaska.

This collection consists of microfilm of the travel journals of Captain Joseph Billings and Captain G. A. Sarychev. The journals, along with a navigational log, include drawings, charts, and settlement listings. Billings' log and journals are written in English with Russian annotations. The journals document Russian settlements in Alaska.

This collection consists of photocopies of three manuscripts from the Åbo Akademis bibliotek (Åbo Akademi University Library) in Turku, Finland. All of the manuscripts are in Swedish, with no translations. They consist of four notebooks, two in the hand of Gabriel Plathan and two in a different hand, describing a trip from Kazan' to Okhotsk, Siberia, in the spring of 1847; the diary of Gabriel Plathan, Evangelical Lutheran pastor of Sitka, Alaska, covering the period 5 October 1847 through 15 February 1848; and the diary of Margareta Etholén, wife of Arvid Adolf Etholén, chief manager of the Russian-American Company's operations in North America.

Two photocopies of Hieromonk Gideon's Puteshestvie vokrug svieta... (Voyage around the World in the years 1803-1807), an 81-folio manuscript written in Gideon's hand, and one microfiche of an 89-folio manuscript written in a scribe's hand (both in Russian). Both manuscripts describe Gideon's voyage to Alaska aboard the Russian naval vessel Neva and present his observations of Kodiak, Alaska. They include copies of Gideon's letters written during his trip.

Russian Orthodox Church records, including parish registers and birth, death, baptism, and marriage records, for the village of Afognak.

The collection consists of a photocopy of Reinhold Ferdinand Sahlberg's three-volume manuscript journal titled "Anteckningar från en resa kring jorden 1839-1843" [A trip around the world, 1839-1843]. Sahlberg was a Finnish physician and naturalist who served as a doctor in Sitka, Alaska, in 1840-1842.

The Leonid Shur Russian Archival Research Papers consist of Shur's unpublished writings on the history of Russian America, along with his research notes, bibliographies, and photocopies, photographic copies, handwritten copies, excerpts, and notes from documents found in nineteen Russian and American archives, museums, and libraries. The material, which reflects Shur's personal research interests, focuses upon three topics: Russian traveler and writer Kiril T. Khlebnikov; nineteenth-century Russian artists in Alaska and California; and Russian sources on Alaskan and American history. Much of the material is in Russian, both printed and handwritten.

This collection contains microfilm copies of original documents held in Spanish museums and archives. Documents are in Spanish. The volume contains English translations from thirty of the officer's journals kept during their visits to Alaska. These journals contain extensive descriptions of the Natives and Russian fur traders, and their interaction with the Spanish voyagers.