Libraries, Archives, Museums: Russian Alaska primary sources: Kodiak History Museum

Kodiak History Museum

Kodiak History Museum's collections include archival collections in addition to its museum holdings, some of which document Kodiak's history of Russian settlement and the lasting influence of the Russian Orthodox Church. An inventory of the museum's archival collections is available as a searchable PDF.

Church Papers Collection.
2019-43-A41. Collection of Orthodox prayer books and service books in Slavonic, Aleut-Slavonic, and Russian. "Explanation of Earth" text part 5 chapter 1, American Settlements Russian-English phrasebook for Russian speakers.
The London Chronicle Collection, 1780.
2019-75-A73. One The London Chronicle newspaper from Saturday August 5 to Tuesday August 8, 1780. Account of Russian discoveries between Asia and Alaska.
Russian-Alutiiq Alphabet Book Collection.
2019-118-A116. An artificial collection containing pages from a Russian-Alutiiq alphabet book and two documents regarding the early religious history of Russia.
Russian Papers, 1899-1906.
2019-119-A117. An artificial collection containing copies of two editions of the Russian Orthodox American Messenger with translations partially completed byDawn Black and a booklet about the history of the cathedral in Sitka.
Parish Records and Akathists Collection.
2019-120-A118. An artificial collection containing vital statistics records for Ouzinkie on Afognak, 1937-1967. Some records written by Gerasim Schmaltz as well as an akathist to St. Herman and other booklets in Russian.
Invoice of Public Buildings, 1868-1870.
2019-155-A153. A ledger addressed to Frederick Sargent listing the dimensions of public buildings from the Russian Government and built in 1868-1870 by the U.S. government. Carried out 09/1870.
Lists of Exported Pelts, 1876-1822.
2019-176-A174. Three charts listing pelts exported by companies between 1786-1822.
Vandermaelen Map of Kodiak, 1787-1825.
2019-191-A189. One French map of Kodiak titled "AMER. SEP. Partie De L'AMerique Russe. N'22". Notation on the verso reads, "Vandermaelen (P) Brussels,1825". Associated with collection 2019-133-A131.

Credits

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services [grant number LS-250194-OLS-21].