The Kodiak History Museum holds archival collections related to the history of Kodiak. The museum provides access to its archives collection records via Box. The PDF file can be browsed or searched using the search function in your browser or PDF reader.
Myrle Hunter Collection, 1942-1944
Collection of Myrle Hunter's memorabilia from his time in the U.S. Navy and as Fire Chief, 1942-1944.
Johnson Hospital Guild Collection, 1940-1944
Griffin Memorial Hospital Guild operational papers from 1940-1944. This collection was donated by Fostina Johnson, a founding nurse at thehospital. Her husband, Dr. A. Holmes Johnson, was the founding doctor of the hospital.
Jensen Newspapers and Telegrams Collection, 1943-1944
Kodiak Daily Mirror newspapers and telegrams from 1943-1944.
Don Brown Collection
Document collection from Don Brown primarily related to WWII: 2 Membership cards,1 Pass, 1 Document "Japanese Hunting License" racist WWII propoganda, 2 Misc papers, 9 Newsletters "Williwas" 8/16/1941 - 01/1943
Seabees Memorabilia Collection
Artificial collection of memorabilia pertaining to the Seabees on Kodiak during WWII.
Schara Collection, 1941-1974
Memorabilia and letters from William Schara during WWII in Kodiak c. 1941-1974.
Army Warehouse Blueprints, 1942
Two blueprints for an army warehouse in Kodiak. Dated Sept. 25, 1942.
Capt. Beach Photograph Collection, 1940-1949
A collection of photograph negatives from the 1940s of the Kodiak naval base, many including handwritten notes.
Coast Guard Base Blueprints, 1943-1999
Blueprints of Fort Greely layout, warehouses, and the Coast Guard base support center from the 1940s reprinted in the late 1990s.
Erskine and Alaska Commercial Company (ACC) Papers, 1871-1945
A collection of documents from W.J. Erskine regarding the Alaska Commercial Company (ACC). Some of the correspondence covers the period of WWII and may document the effects of WWII on ACC.
Kodiak Trails Map, 1943
Map of NE Kodiak Island roads and trails c. 1943.
Kodiak Naval Base Maps, 1943
5 Maps of the Kodiak Naval Base locations, marked June 30, 1943.
Navy Base Building 28 Blueprints, 1939
5 blueprints on translucent plastic paper of a Naval Air Station Paint and Old Storehouse, dated December 2, 1939. 5 different views of the storehouse. The blueprints are dated prior to the United States' involvement in WWII, however they provide information on military infrastructure on Kodiak just before the war.
Naval Air Station Blueprints, 1940
Collection of 12 blueprints of the Kodiak Naval Air Station printed on plastic paper sheets c. 1940.
Kodiak Townsite Plat Map, 1940
One large plat map of the Kodiak townsite from 1940, showing the downtown area as well as much of the Shelikoff Straight. Map is marked,"As surveyed by F.W. Williamson July 4 to Nov. 12, 1940, printed Aug 23, 1941" Handwritten annotations.
Halloway Collection, 1943-1975
Documents and memorabilia from Warren Halloway during WWII c. 1943-1975, many associated with the Kodiak Daily Mirror newspaper.This collection is associated with P-798 (a photograph collection). It is unknown whether they came from the same donor.
Gumm Collection, 1941-1942
A collection of memorabilia from 1941 and 1942 from Wilbert Gumm who was stationed at Fort Greely containing matchbook covers, cards,and menus.
Road System Map
Map marked "Road System/Middle Bay - P.T. Pasagshak" and "WWII"
A.A.F. Aeronautical Chart, 1945
One aeronautical chart from 1945.
Gulf of Alaska Aeronautical Chart, 1944
AAF aeronautical chart of Kodiak Island and the Gulf of Alaska c. 1944