HMC-0026. This collection contains the archives of the Alaska Press Women, an organization which encourages professional journalistic standards and promotes opportunities for women in the field in Alaska.
HMC-0516. Russell "Rusty" Annabel was a United Press war correspondent in Alaska during World War II. This collection consists of transcripts of dispatches, annotated dispatches, correspondence, article clippings, and photograph materials.
HMC-0989. The Atwood family owned and ran the largest newspaper in the state, the Anchorage Times, from 1935-1989. The collection contains records related to the running of the Anchorage Time, and notes, research, drafts of articles and editorials written by Bob Atwood.
HMC-0084. Genie Chance was a newspaper reporter, radio broadcaster, and state legislator. Included are papers which document her journalistic activities, in particular the 1964 Alaska Earthquake. There are audio tapes of broadcasts relating to the earthquake and other papers.
HMC-0085. Ann Chandonnet, was a food editor and children's book reviewer for the Anchorage Daily News and a writer for the Anchorage Times. Included are papers relating to her work as an author among which are correspondence, drafts, research, reviews, and other papers.
HMC-0461. Robert and Wilma Knox were journalists who worked for a number of newspapers and magazines in Alaska including the Anchorage Daily News, the Fairbanks Daily News-Miner, and the Anchorage Times.
The majority of the collection consists of the records of the Cook Inlet Courier. This includes financial and subscription records, layout materials, subject files, and at least a portion of the newspaper’s photograph morgue.
HMC-0222. The collection consists of the original AP wire copies regarding the 1964 earthquake for the period of March 27-31. Included are messages from stations in Juneau, Fairbanks, and Anchorage as well as a booklet on the AP coverage of the event.
HMC-1062. The collection includes materials related to Wedel-Cowgill's career as a journalism educator in Anchorage, and as a member of the Alaska Press Women and Alaska Press Club, as well as her own production company, Wedel Productions, which produced materials for the news, public service announcement brochures, filmstrips, TV, and radio.
HMC-0353. Betsy Woodman, was a newspaperwoman and writer for Anchorage area papers. Lyman Woodman, a former soldier, was an editor or public information officer for various government and military offices. He began a career as a freelance writer in 1947 and has authored numerous articles and books. This collection contains papers and reference material collected by the Woodmans for various writing projects, drafts, and publications.
This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.