PCA 488. Aerial Photographs of Alaskan Coastal Communities, 1965-1975 ; Black and white and color aerial photographs depicting Alaskan coastal communities. The Department of Environmental Conservation kept these photographs for reference purposes. In the event of an oil spill or other type of accident, aerial photographs could provide an overview of geographic features of the particular area.

MS 246. Newspaper clippings regarding the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation’s litter and recycling program from 1980-1982 in various cities.

PCA 543. Territorial Department of Health surveys of village water and sewage systems, 1950s-. Village water and sewage system assessment, including permafrost conditions, sanitation assistance training, and village structures and village life and people, 1940s-1960s. Arial and close-up views of village layouts and surrounding landscapes, construction projects. Studies undertaken for the State of Alaska Health Department, Territorial Department of Health, United States Department of the Interior Office of Indian Affairs Field Service.

MS 228. Materials in the collection include field notes, engineering reports, archeological reports, bioenvironmental reports, radiochemical analyses, maps, high speed photographs, clippings, and correspondence relating to the underground testing of the nuclear warhead for the proposed Spartan U.S. Anti-Intercontinental Ballistic Missile System, conducted by the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission on Amchitka Island, Alaska. The collection relates to Project Milrow, the Cannikin Project, and Project Long Shot.

Subjects of the images include: Yukon River, Peters Lake, Arctic Game Range, Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR) North Slope oil drilling rigs, oil exploration tundra scars, Brooks Range, National Petroleum Reserve (NPR), Sagwon, Umiat, Fort Yukon, Bettles, and environmental impacts of the “Hickel Highway” ice road, such as irrevocable damage caused by tundra tracks. A “Travel Report” describing day-to-day events is included in the collection. According to Ted, DDT contamination of fish in Alaska was limited to population centers and military bases, where the pesticide had been used for mosquito control. Merrell and Sears did not find DDT in North Slope fish at the time. Also included are images of fish traps, unrelated to pesticide sampling work.

PCA 81. Dr. Maynard Miller, founder and director of the Juneau Icefield Project, compiled this album of photographs while at Michigan State University during the 1951 Summer Institute of Glaciological and Arctic Sciences on the Juneau Ice Field. In addition to the 39 photographs, there are 5 pertinent graphs and line drawings.

MS 105. The papers describe his responsibilities as an oceanographer testing temperature and chemical characteristics of water at oceanographic stations in the Arctic. His letters and diary describe the cruise and-impressions of various locales which include in part, the Inside Passage, Gulf of Alaska, Bering Sea, Golovnin Bay, King Island, Little Diomede, St. Lawrence Island and Arctic villages.

Project Chariot Marine Mammal Study, Cape Thompson, 1960-61. The images were taken while Burton Ostenson was doing field work in connection with Project Chariot. The slides were taken in and around Point Hope and Kivalina, 1960 and 1961.

MS 65. The Nelson Collection includes wildlife management reference material used by Pete in his work, personal writings, field diaries as a wildlife biologist, duck stamps, and photographs; also, the scrapbooks and diaries of Charles Sprague, Alaska's first Territorial Fish Commissioner and Superintendent of Hatcheries are part of this collection.

MS 251. Data and technical reports related to water quality and sewage treatment systems in arctic and subarctic permafrost regions of rural Alaska. Water sanitation, weather data, construction, heating and ventilation, glacial flood flow.

Identifier: MS 88. This manuscript collection includes writings of Maxcine Williams and various reprints or publications on botanical subjects.