Libraries, Archives, Museums: Environment and climate change: Anchorage Museum

Anchorage Museum

The Anchorage Museum holds archival collections, including some from individuals and projects involved in environmental protection, as well as those that show environmental change over time. Not all of the archival collections have finding aids, so you may need to contact the Museum for additional information. The museum has also put together a Climate Change Resource Guide that highlight some of the photographs in the museum's collections that illustrate the effects of climate change in Alaska.

Tom Cook Papers.
B2017.012. The collection consists of records created or collected by Tom Cook during his work in Alaska, first with DMEM and then with Chevron and the Oil/Whalers Working Group, including 120 color negatives, 163 color photographs, 11 black-and-white photographs, 17 slides, call logs,
correspondence, reports, and publications.
Dowell Aleutian Islands Clean-up Collection.
B1983.058. The collection includes research files, reports, financial data, 125 sheets of maps, and 364 black-and-white photographic prints created or collected by Thomas Dowell during his survey of World War II-era military debris remaining on the Aleutian Islands in the 1970s.
Ceceile Kay Richter Collection.
B01.34. This collection consists of some general files on the Defense Environmental Restoration Program; a file containing information regarding Ms. Richter’s background and participation in the project; files listing airfields, naval construction, weather stations, White Alice sites, Department of Defense (DoD) priorities; files containing ownership information about some of the sites.
Rural Village Environmental Health Photographs.
B2013.075. The collection consists of black-and-white prints and contact sheets (120mm and 35mm) including 509 images of rural Alaskan villages, houses, and public facilities. The photographs were taken by Environmental Health Service staff. There are also three memos pertaining to the original photographs.
James W. Stuhler Slides.
B1997.011. Sides of Defense Environmental Restoration Program activities depict cleanup of sites at Caines Head (Kenai Peninsula), Cold Bay, Dutch Harbor, Kaktovik, Kodiak, Nome, and Yakutat.
Ward Wells Collection.
B1983.091. Collection of an Alaskan photographer. Photographs of the landscape and wildlife show changes in the environment over time.
Steve McCutcheon Collection
Steve McCutcheon was a photographer in Alaska. McCutcheon’s photographs focus particularly on the oil, fishing, and
timber industries; Alaska politics and statehood; construction; earth sciences; the 1964 Alaska Earthquake; and Anchorage and other Alaskan communities. Photographs in this collection depict environmental change in Alaska.

Credits

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services [grant number LS-250194-OLS-21].