Libraries, Archives, Museums: Environment and climate change: Alaska Resources Library and Information Services (ARLIS)

Alaska Resources Library and Information Services (ARLIS)

The Alaska Resources Library and Information Services (ARLIS) is a partnership between a number of state and federal agencies that have consolidated library materials related to natural resources in Alaska into a single collection. These materials include some sources that are not cataloged, and those identified as relevant to this guide are listed below. For information about additional uncataloged materials held by ARLIS, see the guide to their "Hidden Collections"

Arctic Environmental Information and Data Center (AEIDC) Photo Collection
This collection of 1,777 historic Alaska photographs from the early 1970s covers all aspects of Alaska, from cultural to scientific, including industry. Most were taken by AEIDC staff for use in the Alaska Regional Profiles.
Sea Ice
NOAA compiled this collection of maps dating 1972-2004 (but incomplete) showing extent of sea ice in Northern Alaska, and sea ice analyses. The Climate Data dates back to the 1950s.
Source Water Assessments
Source Water Assessments provide water quality information about public water systems and indicate the level of contamination risk to these water systems from potential or existing contaminant sources.
USFWS National Wildlife Refuge Annual Narratives
These reports, prepared at National Wildlife Refuges throughout Alaska, describe personnel, projects, and activities at each refuge. Many reports contain photographs and maps and are a rich source of history of the refuge.
Wild and Scenic Rivers
This multi-agency collection includes original files and photographs documenting selection of rivers for the Wild and Scenic River System. The collection includes candidate rivers as well as those selected.

Credits

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services [grant number LS-250194-OLS-21].