Libraries, Archives, Museums: Subsistence primary source collections: University of Alaska Fairbanks Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives

University of Alaska Fairbanks Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives

The University of Alaska Fairbanks Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives (APRCA) consists of several different collections, each with a focus on a different type of material. Each of these collections contains material related to subsistence in Alaska. Click the links below to jump to the section of this guide for each collection.

Archives (manuscripts and photographs)

Alaska Anthropological Association Records. 1974-.
The Association's records include its constitution and by-laws, minutes of its business and board meetings, correspondence, financial papers, and membership lists. A large part of the collection consists of material produced for the annual conference (programs and abstracts; advertising posters; copies of some of the papers presented) and copies of the Association's publications (newsletter, Aurora monograph series). The records may include information about subsistence practices among Alaska Native groups and others.
Alaska Transparencies Collection.
The Alaska Transparencies Collection consists of 139 color slides of various Alaskan subjects. They include images of fish species and Alaska Native fishing techniques and technology, fish camps, fish processing and preservation. Also included are commercially produced images of Alaska Natives from Kotzebue and the Alaskan Arctic in general.
Beaver, Alaska, Photograph Collection. circa 1920 - 2003.
The Beaver, Alaska Photograph Collection contains digital copy prints of a photograph album and photocopies of memorial service programs and news clippings from Beaver, Alaska. Subjects include subsistence, fishing, cabin construction, family life, the people of Beaver and social conditions.
Bernardi, S.R. Photographs. circa 1905.
The S.R. Bernardi Photograph Album, ca. 1905, consists of 35 photographs with handwritten captions, several pages of handwritten text and a hand-drawn map. The album title is "Story of a Whale Hunt" and documents the whale hunt as it was carried out by Inupiat in the village of Wales on the Northwest coast of Alaska.
Bragaw-Everett Family Photographs. 1900s-1930s.
The collection includes photographs of subsistence activities, such as sheep hunting and whaling, as well as documents pertaining to fishing.
Calkins, Nettie Diary. 1911.
The collection consists of one photocopy of Nettie Calkins's diary, kept at Togiak, Alaska, 10 May - 31 December 1911. The diary describes the daily routine of housekeeping, subsistence activities, visits by reindeer herders, and teaching school.
Campbell, Fred Diary. 1944-1953.
The collection consists of the diary of Fred Campbell, an "old timer" of Richardson, Alaska. The brief entries convey the daily routine of an unmarried man engaged in subsistence activities and fur trapping in the McCoy Creek region, northwest of Big Delta, Alaska.
Burch, Ernest S. Jr. Papers. 1960s - 2010.
The Ernest S. Burch, Jr. Papers consist of the personal and anthropological research papers of Dr. Ernest "Tiger" Burch. Included in the papers are Burch's journals, personal field notes, and personal and professional correspondence. Also included are research notes, field notes, correspondence, planning documents, interview transcripts and related materials for many of Burch's professional projects and publications. Some of the materials in the collection relate to Alaska Native subsistence practices.
Evans, H. David Papers. 1975-1986, 2018.
This collection contains H. David Evans's correspondence and notes on subsistence life in the Yukon-Charley area during the 1970s and 1980s with some reference to conditions in the 1930s. It also covers some of Evans's efforts to prevent ANILCA creating the Yukon-Charley Rivers National Preserve.
Fay, Francis H. Papers. 1952-1975.
The Frances H. Fay collection consists of field notes, photographs, photographic transparencies and an unpublished manuscript. The field notes detail Fay's research including not only his walrus research, but also his study of other St. Lawrence Island fauna and his participation in village hunting activities. Fay also writes about day to day activities in Gambell and Savoonga, and about the people he met and worked with.
Folger, George C. and Willa Papers. 1937-1941.
This collection includes a photograph album and diary kept by George and Willa Folger during the time they worked for the Lomen brothers near Golovin, Alaska, in the 1930s and 1940s. Many of the photographs are identified. Places named include Golovin, Candle, Teller, Barrow, and White Mountain. Among the activities and people depicted are Diomede carvers, reindeer operations, freighting, dances, camping, travel by boat, on foot and in airplanes, and subsistence activities.
Gilbert, Charles Henry, Yukon Diaries. 1920.
The collection consists of Charles Henry Gilbert's journals of a trip during the summer of 1920 to research salmon populations along the Yukon River.In addition to travel details, the journals record observations on salmon and salmon fishing practices along the Yukon.
Glover, W.A. Photograph Collection. circa 1970-1975.
The collection contains 12 photographs of fishwheels under construction and in use at Tanana. A letter and 2 drawings from Rev. Tim Sniffen of Saint James Mission, Tanana, provide some detail about fishwheels.
Koponen, Niilo Papers. 1952-1992.
Papers of a former state representative from Fairbanks, which include a box of files related to subsistence policy.
Hughes, Charles C. Papers. 1940-1984.
Papers of an anthropologist who worked on St. Lawrence Island, which include linguistic, dietary, medical, subsistence, kinship, and climate information which he used for his 1957 dissertation.
Inuit Circumpolar Conference Records. 1986.
The Inuit Circumpolar Conference Records consist of resolutions, workshop reports, and two papers generated by and for the Inuit Circumpolar Conference and Inuit Circumpolar Elders Conference held in Kotzebue, Alaska, 28 July through 3 August 1986. One of those papers includes inventories of the species of animals and plants harvested for subsistence by the Inuit.
Hooper Bay Records. Hooper Bay Teacher's Report. 1917-1918.
The Hooper Bay Teacher's Report consists of a 47-page handwritten report titled "Annual Report of the School at Hooper Bay for the Year 1917-1918." The report describes the author's repairs to the teacher's quarters and schoolhouse, attempts at gardening, efforts to enforce school attendance, classes taught and student performance, life in the Yup'ik Eskimo village at Hooper Bay (including subsistence, health and hygiene, spring starvation and winter feasting, and "moral conditions"), and the state of the local reindeer herd, which was scheduled to be moved elsewhere.
Northern Alaska Environmental Center Records. 1971-1999.
Records of an organization focused on preserving the natural and human environments of northern and central Alaska. The collection includes a subseries of subject files related to lifestyle and subsistence issues.
Linxwiler, Hazel Papers. 1931-1939.
The Hazel Linxwiler Papers consist of one 233 page typewritten manuscript written by Hazel Linxwiler describing her experiences as a nurse working at the hospital in Fort Yukon, Alaska, and as a wife of a trapper living in a cabin on her husband's trap line. Linxwiler describes the health of the people of Fort Yukon as well as the hardships and rewards she experienced living in a remote cabin with small children while her husband was frequently away checking on his traps.
Luke, Abraham Diaries. 1943-1947 [bulk].
The Abraham Luke Diaries consist of three small memorandum books with daily notes on the author's employment with MHKCB Co. [Metcalf, Hamilton, Kansas City Bridge Company] and subsistence trapping and fishing, as well as events, illnesses, and deaths among the inhabitants of the region around Healy Lake, Alaska.
McKennan, Robert Addison, Papers. 1928-1980.
The papers include McKennan's anthropological research, field notes, writings, and photographs, as well as some personal and biographical material. His field notes and journals particularly record his work among the Tanana and Chandalar Kutchin, including information on subsistence practices.
Perala, Stuart and Mary (Betty) Collection.
Stuart and Mary (Betty) Perala were school teachers in Savoonga, Nunapitchuk, and Whale Pass from 1965 to 1967. The collection includes slides of walrus hunting and canning classes.
Robert Matsen Papers. 1953-2000.
The Robert Matsen Papers contain photocopies of correspondence from mostly Simon Paneak to Robert Matsen. Other correspondents include Paneak's children and other individuals from Nunamiut. The letters were written between 1954-2000. Also included is a photocopy of Matsen's journal written in 1954-1956 that describes hunting trips with Simon Paneak when his people still lived a nomadic lifestyle. Original materials are housed at the Simon Paneak Memorial Museum in Anaktuvuk Pass, Alaska.
Van Valin, William Papers. 1910-1920.
William Van Valin (1878-1951) was an educator and explorer who lived among the Inupiat.The collection includes photographs of subsistence activities, such as hunting and butchering seals, whales, and reindeer, cooking.
Memoirs and Reminiscences Collection. Anonymous folder. early 1900s.
The folder was formerly a small collection known as "Eskimo Subsistence." It consists of a handwritten account of life in the village of Kotzebue, circa early 1900s. The yearly cycle of hunting and gathering is described, as is the arrival of the mail boats and the Revenue Cutter "Bear." Special events such as Thanksgiving and Christmas celebrations are mentioned.
Geist, Otto W., Papers. 1927-1963.
Otto Geist was a paleontologist and archaeologist with the University of Alaska, who did archaeological work on St. Lawrence Island. The collection contains information about subsistence practices of Alaska Natives, particularly those on St. Lawrence Island.

Alaska Film Archives

Subsistence: A Special Report] [videorecording], [between 1975 and 1995].
AAF-8993 FILM ARCHIVES. From the University Relations collection. APR Collection Number 96-144. Summary: VHS tape is titled "Subsistence: A Special Report." [Summary information is from original notes accompanying collection].
[Kachemak Bay, subsistence interview] [videorecording], [between 1981 and 1982].
AAF-4379 FILM ARCHIVES. Summary: Kachemak Bay aerial views. Interview with ? Schroeder of the Department of Fish and Game in Homer on the topic of subsistence issues. Some audio problems at beginning of interview. From the Alaska Review Collection. Origin 1994.
[KFAR, subsistence fishing interviews], between 1974 and 1978.
AAF-7605 FILM ARCHIVES. Summary: Scenes of fire hydrant system under construction (silent), KFAR radio DJ presents a Tundra Topics broadcast (sound), men interviewied about subsistence fishing (sound), commercial fishing scenes (silent), fish processing facility (silent), and man in small boat pulls up net full of fish (silent).
[Subsistence interview, walrus hunt] [film], between 1965 and 1980.
AAF-8120 FILM ARCHIVES. From the Alaska Department of Fish and Game collection. Summary: Segment titled "Pilot Station Interview" is a film negative, and contains images of interviewers talking to Native Alaskan people in a village. Next two segments are film positive, and contain images of people hunting and killing walrus, capturing birds, butchering walrus, and killing a polar bear.
[Subsistence, Potlatch, Mrs. Hickel [videorecording],[between 1989 and 1999].
AAF-10805 FILM ARCHIVES. From the Robert Charlie Collection. Minto Elders discuss the cultural importance of subsistence activities, like hunting, fishing, berry collecting, and food storage. Another clip shows preparations for a potlatch and discusses its cultural importance. The video also includes an interview between Robert Charlie and Ermalee Hickel.
[Subsistence seminar in Juneau] [videorecording]; 1974.
AAF-2752 FILM ARCHIVES. Some positions from the Conference on Subsistence sponsored by the Joint Federal State Land Use Planning Commission, recorded in Juneau on February 4 and 5, 1974. Speakers include: Roger Lang, president of the Alaska Federation of Natives; Jimmy Huntington of Doyon, Ltd.; Harold Napoleon, president of Yupiktak Bista (note that title screen in video is misspelled); and Nick Jake Gregory, president of the Bristol Bay Development Corporation. From the Alaska Film Archives, Elmer E. Rasmuson Library, University of Alaska Fairbanks.
Subsistence, an Alaskan lifestyle [motion picture]; 1979?
9-UF-108 MOTION PICTURE, Produced by Yupik Films, Yukon Kuskokwim Health Corporation. Subsistence hunting and fishing are an economic necessity to the majority of Eskimos in the Yukon-Kuskokwim delta region because of limited work opportunities. Film depicts this aspect of Alaskan
[Beluga Whale Hunt: Subsistence - elements] [videorecording], 1980.
AAF-8049 -- AAF-8051. From the Alaska Department of Fish and Game collection. Scenes include women putting whale meat into barrels and on drying racks, men chopping wood, barrels over fires, children playing, man inspecting meat on drying racks, meat being taken from barrels to racks, boats near shore, men in boats going out to hunt, men preparing weapons and tools, men coming back to camp, many boats surrounding whale, men harpooning whale, four whales being brought to shore, whales being butchered and divided, boats arriving back at shore, and boats leaving shore again.
[Arctic-Yukon-Kuskokwim commercial and subsistence fishing] [videorecording], 1973.
AAF-7641 FILM ARCHIVES. From the Alaska Department of Fish and Game collection. Reel is labeled, "AYK Comm and Subsistence Fishing 1973," and contains images of people pulling in fish nets, salmon drying on fish racks, etc.
Subsistence, a way of life is dying [motion picture], [1978].
AAF-5267 FILM ARCHIVES. Produced by Phil Cook Films for Bristol Bay Native Association, Dillingham, Alaska. Portrays the fishing and hunting life style of the Bristol Bay people, and how it has been jeopardized by the passage of the Migratory Bird Treaty Act of 1916, the Marine Mammal Protection Act of 1972 and the increase of sport hunters in rural Alaska.
[Fish for Alaska; Bethel: Gillnet and Subsistence; Gillnet original] [videorecording], 1976.
AAF-8069 FILM ARCHIVES. From the Alaska Department of Fish and Game collection. "Fish for Alaska" segment contains images of salmon underwater, Native Alaskan women pulling in fish nets, drying salmon on fish racks. "Bethel: Gillnet and Subsistence" include scenes of small boats with fishing nets in open water, men in boats bringing in nets, people taking measurements of fish, fish hanging on drying racks, boy and fishracks, and man in boat next to fishwheel.
[Villages and subsistence activity, King Island dancers and village, ATG soldiers and Aleutian village], [between 1940 and 1950].
AAF-1531, AAF-1535 -- AAF-1536 FILM ARCH. From the Muktuk Marston Film collection. APR Collection Number 90-058. Images include seal hunting, hunters with harpoon and guns, whale meat being divided, seal pokes, and women skinning seals.
Yupík : tales of the tundra, 1998.
VH-6401 VIDEOTAPE.
Alaska review 9 [videorecording], 1977.
AAF-4954 FILM ARCHIVES. From the Alaska Review Collection. Second segment, reported by Eric Eckholm, deals with moose population management and subsistence hunting in Alaska.
In Eskimo land [videorecording], 1948.
AAF-1928 FILM ARCHIVES. From the Waugaman collection. APR collection number 95-272. Images include various aspects of the subsistence lifestyle of Yupik Eskimos living on Nunivak Island.
Inuit. [Motion picture].
44589 MOTION PICTURE ANNEX. Film shows footage of the Inuit Circumpolar Conference held in Barrow which brought together people of Greenland, Canada and Alaska. The Conference topics included unity of Arctic People, and aspects of arctic life, focusing on the conference's influence of the subsistence whaling decision
Interior Magazine [videorecording], 1981.
AAF-8199 FILM ARCHIVES. From the KTVF collection. Five episodes of Interior Magazine, including subsistence with Jay Hammond.
Our Land, Our Life [videorecording], [between 1970 and 1980].
AAF-8880 FILM. Summary: Scenes of life and subsistence activities taking place in Western Alaska coastal villages. Discussion about natural resource management and subsistence activities.
Return of the kings [videorecording],1987.
AAF-2299 FILM ARCHIVES. Summary: Fishermen and Alaska Department of Fish and Game personnel present their views on the changing nature of the Yukon Delta region King Salmon fishery and needs of commercial and subsistence users. AAF-2299.
Two Ways of Life: Togiak, Alaska [videorecording],1975.
AAF-5327 FILM ARCHIVES. Summary: Program contains scenes of family life, subsistence activities, and construction activities in Togiak, Alaska. Robert Ayojiak, Annie Pauk and Tom Chythlook are interviewed, and Tom Chythlook tells the Raven Story. Interviewees speak in Yupik, with English translations provided by program narrator. Produced by KUAC-TV.
Aurivinmi/At Summer Camp [videorecording], 1984.
AAF-7592 FILM ARCHIVES. Frank and Myra Jones, and Charlie Jones Jr., of the Kotzebue area talk about the subsistence lifestyle and the importance of maintaining traditional knowledge. This program follows their lives during the summer at camp as they hunt for bearded seals. Presented by the Northwest Arctic Instructional Television Center, Kotzebue.
Once our way [videorecording], [between 1970 and 1980].
Photographed, produced and directed by Andrew J. Chikoyak. Film includes interviews with people from the community of Tununak, Alaska, and includes scenes of subsistence activities, drumming and dancing. Film was made possible by the National Endowment for the Arts, the Alaska State Council on the Arts, and the Alaska Humanities Forum.
The Last anchor [videorecording], [1977?].
AAF-5775 FILM ARCHIVES Produced by the North Slope Borough. Presents the case for subsistence hunting of bowhead whales as essential to the Inupiat people for providing nutritional needs and preserving their culture.
The Last Winged Creature [videorecording], 1995.
AAF-13157 FILM ARCHIVES. AAF-13157 is copied from a VHS tape labeled, "Alaska Department of Fish & Game Division of Subsistence presents The Last Winged Creature performed by the Chevak Tanqik Theatre April 1995, TRT 33:00," and contains footage of a play performed by the Chevak Tanqik Theatre about subsistence living. See also AAF-9964.
The Shape of Things to Come: The Future of Rural Alaska, Program #4 After the Boom Busts, 1987.
Summary: This program is part of a four-part series exploring the future of rural Alaska. "After the Boom Busts" discusses subsistence, governance issues, and the economic future of rural areas. Produced by the Northwest Arctic TV Center, Kotzebue.
Alaska Harvest [videorecording], 1978.
AAF-7286 FILM ARCHIVES. Program about the growing world population and need to develop Alaskan's traditional and non-traditional food sources. Topics include subsistence hunting, shipping of food products from Seattle, farming in Alaska, commercial fishing, and importance of proper nutrition.
Why men hunt [videorecording], 1984.
AAF-5880 FILM ARCHIVES. Sponsored by Anthropology Department, University of Alaska and Alaska Native Human Resources Development Program. Funded in part by Alaska Humanities Forum. Follows various hunters in Alaska--subsistence, sports, trophy--examining how and why they hunt.
Alaska food choices [videorecording], [between 1974 and 1979].
AAF-325 FILM ARCHIVES. Program discusses the food value of traditional Native subsistence food and compares them to commercial products. From the UAF Cooperative Extension Service collection. APR Collection Number 2013-0092.
[Tanana Survival School Summer 1974] [videorecording], 1974.
AAF-5774 FILM ARCHIVES. Original videotape is labeled, “Tanana Survival School Summer 1974. Program 2: Subsistence Fishing on the Yukon; The Dipnet with Joseph John of Tanana, The Fishtrap with Isaac Tritt of Arctic Village, Knitting Nets with Gladys Nicholia of Ruby and Maggie Nicholia of Tanana. Program 3: The Fishwheel; Joseph John of Tanana. Films by Bo Boudart.
Old Ways, New Ways [videorecording], 1984.
AAF-11625 FILM ARCHIVES. Panel discussion in which Alaska Native Elders discuss beliefs, philosophies, and traditions including: naming traditions, beliefs regarding animals, Elders’ teachings, parents’ teachings, the evolution of traditional ways in day-to-day life, the significance of the subsistence lifestyle, the sharing system, teaching cultural values to children, the importance of practicing their language, celebrations that revolve around children, beliefs regarding Elders, beliefs regarding hunting, food beliefs, and dealing with troublemakers in the village.
[Tanana Survival School Winter 1974 - 1975] [videorecording], [between 1974 and 1975].
Contains images of men peeling logs, bending wood and cutting wire to construct a fishwheel, men retrieving fish from the fishwheel, the railroad bridge at Nenana, a woman cutting fish for drying while talking about the process, a man processing roe and separating eggs through a screen, other people cutting fish for drying, title screen listing the name Joseph John, title screens for the Tanana Survival School filmed by Bo Boudart, people gathering poles for construction of fishwheel while man talks about fishwheels and the construction process, and fishwheel being constructed and put in use.
[Alaska joint federal-state land use planning commission hearings at King Cove] [videorecording]
AAF-2786 FILM ARCHIVES. An unidentified man asks general questions of the commission and talks about subsistence resources of the area.
Alaska review 50 [videorecording], 1983.
AAF-4995 FILM ARCHIVES. Alaska Review explores the lives of those continuing to pursue a subsistence lifestyle in Alaska despite outside pressures from a quickly changing world and the availability of new tools and methods for hunting and gathering natural resources.
Life on Diomede as told by elders, 1989.
This video shows Inupiat culture on Little Diomede Island through the voices of elders as the native Ignaluk language is fading. Almost 150 Eskimos live on Little Diomede Island which is located in the Bering Strait, only three miles from Russia's Big Diomede Island. The spring walrus harvest and subsistence hunting activity continues as a way of life. Through images of springtime activity, we see the marine resource dependent lifestyle which persists amidst a changing world.
Alaska review 12 [videorecording],1978.
AAF-4957 FILM ARCHIVES. In the first segment, reporter Mark O. Badger examines Inupiaq culture, its dependence on and connection to marine mammals, and the development of a cash economy in Alaska villages.
[Elder youth conference in Point Hope, tapes 1 to 4] [videorecording], 2011.
AAF-16965-AAF-16968. Video of Elder Youth Conference in Point Hope, including scenes and discussions of subsistence activities.

Alaska Native Language Archives (ANLA)

The Alaska Native Language Center's mission consists of "documenting, promoting, cultivating, and revitalizing Alaska Native languages and culture." In keeping with this mission the many of the materials in the Alaska Native Language Archives are written or recorded in a variety of Alaska Native Languages such as Alutiiq/Sugpiaq, Athabascan languages, Eyak, Haida, Inupiaq, Tlingit, Tsimshian, Unangax̂, and Yupik languages. Items in the collection may be in one or more Alaska Native languages, English, or both.

Yup'ik Eskimo Subsistence Board Game.
CY978LK1983. Board game Using the traditional Yup'ik subsistence system through a combination of skill in hunting, gathering, sharing foods, players discover what combinations of judgement, luck and foresight will allow players to survive throughout the year, as resources become alternately scarce and plentiful. Those who "starve" must drop out of the game; winners are those who survive.
Kuuvanmiut Subsistence: Traditional Eskimo Life in the Latter Twentieth Century [ Maps], 1977.
IN(N)977ABNAS1977b.
Subsistence Harvest of Herring Spawn-on-Kelp in the Togiak Region of Bristol Bay, 1985
CY985WC1985. Includes map of Yup'ik place names in Bristol Bay.
Subsistence Fishing Patterns on the Togiak River and the Impact of Sport Fishing, 1991.
CY987G1991. Includes map of Yup'ik place names along Togiak River.
Traditional Knowledge and Fishing Practices of the Ahtna of the Copper River, Alaska, 2005.
AT973KS2005. Traditional Knowledge and Fishing Practices of the Ahtna of the Copper River, Alaska. Technical Paper No.270. William E. Simeone and James Kari. In collaboration with Copper River Native Association Cheesh Na' Tribal, Council Chitina Tribal Council.
TEK: Mapping the Traditional Subsistence Territories of Yakutat Forelands, 2010.
TL003R2003. Book. TEK: Mapping the Traditional Subsistence Territories of Yakutat Forelands.
Native Calendars and Subsistence activities, 1982.
SY982O1982. Native Calendars and Subsistence activities. Month Names with discussion, from the author's own fieldnotes and Silook 1976.
Looking Back on Subsistence, 2000.
SUC972T2000 Looking Back on Subsistence; Interviews with Elders of the Chugach Region. A Resource book for teachers and students. Compiled by Derenty Tabios, Edited by Sandra P. Wassillie & Lana Lofquist-Taylor, Illustrated by Glen Oberg.
The Tigara Eskimos and their Environment, 1992.
IN959F1992. Documents lifestyle, subsistence activities, and environment of Point Hope Eskimos.
Harvest of the Sea: Coastal Subsistence in Modern Wainwright, 1981.
N977N1981. A report for the North Slope Borough's Coastal Management Program by Richard K. Nelson.
Tracks in the Wildland: A Portrayal of Koyukon and Nunamiut Subsistence, 1978.
KO976N1978b. Book: Tracks in the Wildland: A Portrayal of Koyukon and Nunamiut Subsistence by Ray Bane, Kathleen Mautner, and Richard K. Nelson.
[Bird Harvest Surveys], 1991.
CY991F1991. Letter from United States Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge to "Village households" inviting them to participate in a survey in which all birds and eggs taken for subsistence will be tallied in one year. In Yup'ik and English.
Native calendars and subsistence activities, 1982.
CY982O1982. This paper attempts to analyze how Eskimos of Gambell Island and Nelson Island articulate the yearly cycle of nature and their corresponding subsistence activities through investigations of native calendars.
Resource Use and Subsistence in the Vicinity of the Proposed Lake Clark National Park, Alaska and Additions to Katmai National Monument, 1978.
TI975B1978. Resource Use and Subsistence in the Vicinity of the Proposed Lake Clark National Park, Alaska and Additions to Katmai National Monument by Steven Behnke.
[Recording: Vonga Bobby], 1989.
ANLC4330. Summary of subsistence and Vonga Bobby's style of beaver trapping.
Telling Ourselves: Ethnicity and Discourse in Southwestern Alaska, 1996.
CY983H1996. This book examines how Yup'ik Eskimos and non-natives construct and maintain gender and ethnic identities through strategic talk about hunting fishing and processing. Although ethnicity is overtly constructed in terms of either /or categories, the discourse of residents of Bethel, Alaska suggests that their actual concern is less with whether one is native or non-native than with how native on is in a given context. In the interweaving of subsistence practices and subsistence discourses, ethnicity is constantly recreated.
Place names and the language of subsistence in Southeast Alaska, 2003.
TL990T2003. Paper in a proceedings volume from a conference entitled: Maintaining the Links: Language, Identity, and the Land. (7th conference of the Foundation for Endangered Languages.) Broome, Australia, 22-24 Sept 2003. Archive holds the entire volume, though this is the only paper devoted to an Alaskan language.
[Missionary Influences on the Haida Settlement and Subsistence Patterns 1876-1920], 1974.
HA974H1974. Abstract: “In the last quarter of the nineteenth century Anglican and Methodist missionary societies sent ministers to serve among the Haida of the Queen Charlotte Islands, British Columbia. Each missionary society had its own future goals and appraisals of the Haida's condition. Both approaches lead to the reorganization of the Haida's settlement and subsistence patterns.”
[Tracks in the Wildland], 1982.
KO982NMB1982. Tracks in the Wildland; A Portrayal of Koyukon and Nunamiut Subsistence. Includes; KO terms, pp. 155-6, 344-347, 363-341, flora and fauna, pp. 301-305 (250 terms) maps with 288 place names, with translations by Eliza Jones.
[Koyukon Women and Subsistence], 1977.
KO977M1977. Paper discussing women’s roles in the traditional subsistence economy of the Koyukon.
[The Yukon River Ingalik], 1976.
IK972V1976. The Yukon River Ingalik: Subsistence, the Fur Trade, and a Changing Resource Base by James W. VanStone. https://www.uaf.edu/anla/record.php?identifier=IK972V1976
[Tanana Chiefs, Lt. Allen, Tanacross Places and Subsistence], 1983. ANLC4111. Audiocassette recording: Side A: Andrew and Maggie Isaac; Tanana Chiefs; Lt. Allen; Side B: Tanacross Places; Subsistence.
[Vonga Bobby, Mary Bobby, Grammar, Gusty Mikhail, Stony River], 1980.
ANLC3694. Audiocassette recording: Side A: Subsistence round summarized by Vonga Bobby; Side B: Kuskokwim Ingalik language session with Mary Bobby at Stony River; Brief multilingual comments by Gusty Mikhail in Yupik, Kuskokwim Ingalik and Dena'ina on mosquitos; Mary Bobby brief text; Stony River
[Jack Tyone, Western Ahtna Places, Subsistence, Talkeetna Mountains], 1982.
ANLC5009. Audiocassette: Side A: Jack Tyone; Western Ahtna Places (1982-02-15); Side B: Tyone Lake area subsistence; Ni'ilyaas (Jim Tyone); First trip to Copper River; West to Talkeetna Mountains (1982-03-22)
[Tanacross place names and subsistence], 1983.
ANLC4116. Audio recording:
Jim Kari interviewing Andrew Isaac about place names.
Shem Pete -- The Hunting Dog, 1989.
TI975P1989. This story, subtitled, "A Dena'ina Tale of Subsistence Values", describes hunting bears in their dens when the food supply ran low. This story probably took place somewhere near the Susitna River in southcentral Alaska in the 18th century or before.
Selawik Inupiat (Eskimo) Archeological Settlements, Resources and Subsistence Lifeways, Northwestern Alaska, 1977.
IN(M)977AA1977. “Described herein are the results of a study of past and present settlements and resource use areas among the Selawik River Eskimos of northwestern Alaska, with an aim to identify the archaeological sites and the resource areas that are crucial to the maintenance of the Siilavingmiit. Research covered the following areas: 1. the habitat, 2. the ethnographic background, 3. an archaeological and use location survey.”
Kuuvanmiut Subsistence: Traditional Eskimo Life in the Latter Twentieth Century, 1977.
IN(N)977ABNAS1977. Ethnography on the Kobuk River Inupiat, with emphasis on economy. Hundreds of Inupiaq terms throughout, transcribed by Sheldon. Appendices, "Eskimo Concepts" by Sheldon, a "cultural dictionary" arranged by semantic domains; "Orthography" by Stephen McNabb; "Placenames" 698-768; 775 pp. See also IN(N)977ABNAS1977b for the maps that were originally in a pocket in the back of the book.
The Two Subsistence Fishermen, 1975.
CY(SCH)974I1975c. Elementary text. In Yup'ik with English at the end. Yukon version 1976, not in collection.
[Tanacross Texts], 1972-1973.
TC968MC1972. 21 ethnographic texts describing subsistence activities, some with English translations, in practical orthography.
The Noatak National Preserve: A Study of Subsistence Use of Renewable Resources in the Noatak.
IN978UU1979. Numerous Inupiaq terms passim and in resource lists, but many badly miscopied, probably from Webster and Zibell 1970, with all special symbols omitted.
Ocean beach dwellers of the Cape Krusenstern area : subsistence patterns.
Typescript photocopy of plant and animal names with Inupiaq names throughout. End pages chart English, Latin, and Eskimo names.
Taluyaqtutiq Aqaluŋnik.
IN(S)M974O1976. Elementary text about subsistence fishing. Iñupiaq only, Noatak dialect. Proofread by Larry Kaplan of the Alaska Native Language Center, 1976.
Nanwalek/ Port Graham Jukebox.
AS081. CD, funded by Minerals Management Service CA#14-35-00001-30788 Task 5: Oral Histories. Copyright 1999, ADF&G Subsistence, Native Village of Nanwalek, Native Village of Port Graham.
The Use of Fish and Wildlife Resources in Tyonek, Alaska, 1977.
TI978FFS1984. copy from a published report. Appendix C Fish, Wildlife and Plant Species Used Historically and Currently by Tyonek Residents. A list of 95 items with Common American Name, Denaina Names and Scientific Name.
Wild Resource Use and Economy of Stony River Village.
TI977K1985. Book on material culture and subsistence. Appendix 1: Native place names in the central Kuskokwim and Stony River village land use area. Appendix 2: Glossary of terms for selected species utilized by Stony River residents, in English, Scientific name, Yup'ik, Kuskokwim Ingalik.
Tanaina language stories by Peter Kalifornsky of Kenai.
TI972Kl1975b. Two short texts, Luq'a Ch'k'ezdelghagyi and Qunshi Uquch'el'ani, about subsistence activities, with interlinear English; the Tanaina damage by the exigencies of typesetting.
[Aleut notebook.], circa 1973.
ALW943H1973g. Wordlists, including subsistence terms, genealogies, and fricative comparison table.
Moving Around in the Old Days.
TNMN983F1983. Introduction by Jane McGary, Lower Tanana spelling system, and vocabulary lists included after each chapter. Texts focus on traditional subsistence activities. Also in collection, typescript and handwritten ms. drafts.
Subsistence Land Use in Upper Yukon-Porcupine Communities, Alaska.
KU983C1983. Written by Richard A. Caulfield.
Cultural and ecological dimensions of subsistence.
KO976N1978. Ethnographic study includes systematic list of mammal names and parts, pp. 263-271, Koyukon terms transcribed with aid of Eliza Jones; and a few Koyukon cultural terms and placenames throughout the text.
Ecology, acculturation and sociocultural organization of the Haida: A report of field research, 1975.
HA970B1975. Typescript dated January 1975 by Maragaret B. Blackman. Considerable amount of lexicon relating to subsistence, flora and fauna. 21 pp.
[Place Names, Nulato, Subsistence], 1981.
ANLC2390. Audiocassette: Side A: Nulato; #108 Place names; Subsistence; Side B: Nulato Subsistence; Making a living.
[Shem Pete, Billy Pete, Katherine Nicolie, Songs, Raven and Whale], 1981.
ANLC1386. Audiocassette: Side 1: Shem Pete: Dena'ina songs; Billy Pete: Subsistence in Tyonek (English and Dena'ina); Reflection on growing up; Shem Pete: Raven and Whale Story (in Dena'ina); Translated by Billy on beginning of ANLC3815. Side 2: Katherine Nicolie: Early life in Kroto Creek Village; to Kashwitna River area Aug.--Oct. 1926 to hunt moose and beaver; re Tsila\en (Old Man Kroto) was arrested in Anchorage for selling beaver skins.
[Tanaina Athabaskan, Personal Reflections, John Stump], 1973.
ANLC1374. Audiocassette: Side 1: Autobiographical reflections; Life in Eklutna in Dena'ina; On depletion of subsistence resources in Knik Arm area; Concern for survival of Native way of life; Discussion of relatives personal situations; Side 2: Short conversation in English about traditional Dena'ina foods (berries, meats).
[Vonga Bobby, Lime Village Subsistence, Including Birds, Fish, Insects], 1992.
ANLC1333. Audiocassette: Vonga Bobby; Lime Village Subsistence; Including birds; Fish; Insects (English, some Dena'ina).
[Elizabeth Nyman, Subsistence foods, Sewing, Traditional Uses for plants and animals],1986.
Audio recording of Elizabeth Nyman, Yanyeidí clan, speaking in Tlingit to linguist Jeff Leer, dated 5/15/1986.
Field Recordings of Nick Galaktianoff and Associated Documents - May 20, 2005.
19030-010. 6 audio files and 4 PDF files. These recording sessions are of Nick Galaktianoff's early memories, hunting/fishing, and history of local area.
Eskimo Heritage Program, 1986.
Transcriptions of interviews with numerous Inupiaq elders. Subjects include: stories, hunting, fishing, herding, clothing, women's work, trade, family relationships, family trees, child rearing,ancestors, legends, stars, weather, changes. As of 2/3/2014 the original tapes could not be located.
[Songs Afognak], 2014.
AS074. Recording of Alutiiq (Sugpiak) elders in Afognak singing songs and discussing village life. Includes mentions of subsistence activities.
[Discussions about Ducks, Songbirds and Birdsongs, Snaring Rabbits, Living on the Land], 2007.
ANLC6474. Discussions of subsistence activities in the Upper Tanana language.
Alexie Gusty; General Stony River Information], 1983.
ANLC6327. Side A: Alexie Gusty; Stony River, Moose skins; Grayling fishing with hooks; Ducks; traditional hunting methods and different animals and fish(in English).
[Junior Gregory].
ANLC6317. Junior Gregory; Fishing for sheefish, Placenames, Geographical descriptions of area by White Mountain, Farewell Lake.
Pre-Contact Salmon Fishing, Kenai River, Alaska, 2001.
Summer, 2000 excavations at the Riverine Kachemak tradition site of KEN-147 indicate the primary method of fishing involved utilizing drift nets in the main body of the Kenai River targeting red (sockeye) salmon.
[Spring Fishing Traditions of the Lime Village Area Dena'ina], 1993.
TI977K1993. Spring Fishing Traditions of the Lime Village Area Dena'ina; Climate, Weather, Aquatic Environments; Harvesting strategies; Camps; Preparing and preserving food; Skin technology; Social Organization and Resource Sharing and exchange; Values and beliefs.
[Quila Patukuilnguq Dock, Sr. interview, Kipnuk; Fishing], 1994.
ANLC8035 . Quila Patukuilnguq Dock, Sr. interview; Kipnuk; Fishing; Kuvyaq; Taluyaq; Uqtaq; fishing during all seasons; Trapping.
[Traditional Lifestyle Presentation, Shem Pete, Mike Alex], 1976.
Presentation at Anchorage Historical and Fine Arts Museum. Mike Alex: Talk about snowshoes; Hunting methods for beluga whale and seal; Traditional cultural techniques that are dying out; Church in Eklutna and its history; Skin-tanning methods; Use of birch bark; Fishing; Traditional vs. modern licensing restrictions; Modern Dena'ina life, etc. Shem Pete: talk about his early life, potlatches; His artifacts now in Anchorage museum, etc.
[Katie John, Fishing Discussion, Molly Galbreath], 2000-2001.
ANLC7025.
[Katie John, Land Use, Nabesna Area, Fishing], 1993.
ANLC7016.

Oral History Program

Ethnobotany, Ethnomedicine and Traditional Healing Project Jukebox.
The Ethnobotany, Ethnomedicine and Traditional Healing Project Jukebox highlights Alaska Native Elders talking about their traditional uses and connections with plants. It includes archived recordings from the Oral History Collection at Elmer E. Rasmuson Library at the University of Alaska Fairbanks and oral history interviews conducted in 2021 and 2022 by a team from the University of Alaska Fairbanks' Ethnobotany Program (EBOT).
Akiachak - Then and Now Project Jukebox.
Akiachak - Then and Now Project Jukebox is an oral history and photographic narrative created collectively by Akiachak community members, the Yupiit Elitnaurutait staff of the Yupiit School District, and the Oral History Program at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Some of the interviews contain information about subsistence activities practiced in the village.
Fairbanks Native Association Project Jukebox.
The Fairbanks Native Association Project Jukebox contains oral history interviews with founders and early leaders of the Fairbanks Native Association (FNA), which was involved in the early days of the Alaska Native land claims movement and was one of the first community organizations to provide social and cultural services to Alaska Natives living in an urban setting. The Jukebox also includes written sources and photographs that help tell the story of FNA's history. Some of the interviewees discuss growing up living a traditional subsistence lifestyle.
Holy Cross Community Project Jukebox.
The Holy Cross Community Project Jukebox provides a snapshot of the lives of some of the elders from the village of Holy Cross, Alaska, which is located among small rolling hills, adjacent to the Yukon River, in Western Alaska. Some of the interviews discuss the traditional subsistence activities that the interviewees grew up with and continue to practice.
Alaska's Subsistence Research Legacy Project Jukebox.
Alaska's Subsistence Research Legacy Project Jukebox explores the development of subsistence research in Alaska from 1980 to 2020, how subsistence data were applied to management decisions, and how research was conducted in an intense political environment. Subsistence is the term used in Alaska for customary and traditional uses of natural resources.
Akiak Project Jukebox.
The Akiak Project Jukebox is comprised of interviews with elders conducted in November 2004, with video clips of storytelling and slideshows of historic and modern photographs related to the people and community of Akiak, Alaska. Some of the interviewees discuss growing up living a traditional subsistence lifestyle.
Chipp-Ikpikpuk and Meade River Oral History Project Project Jukebox.
The Chipp-Ikpikpuk and Meade River Oral History Project Project Jukebox is comprised of interviews conducted with elders in Barrow, Alaska (now known as Utqiaġvik) in the early 1980s about subsistence and land use activities in this critically important river system located near the community.
Gileech'agarohookhyaa Shro' : Don't Forget The Past Project Jukebox.
Gileech'agarohookhyaa Shro' : Don't Forget The Past Project Jukebox contains sixteen historic photographs of Venetie and Arctic Village, Alaska from the personal collection of Kenneth Frank and audio of Kenneth and his wife, Caroline, talking about the images. Portions of the photographs and audio deal with subsistence activities.
Dry Bay Project Jukebox.
The Dry Bay Project Jukebox contains interviews and recordings of gatherings of Tlingit elders and others with ties to Dry Bay (Gunaxoo). The interviews discuss subsistence activities, such as fishing, hunting, and trapping, practiced there.
Fishing and Natural Resources in Bristol Bay Project Jukebox.
The people of Bristol Bay have long depended on the region’s salmon fisheries. This project contains oral history interviews with seven longtime residents of Dillingham, Alaska in the Bristol Bay region who talk about their involvement in fishing and their efforts to address fisheries management and resource issues over the years. They also reflect on the most significant changes they have witnessed during their lifetimes, and look to the future to offer perspectives for young people today. The project explores how livelihoods connected to the environment have both continued and changed in Bristol Bay over time. The interviews discuss both commercial and subsistence fishing.
Kiana Village History Project.
This program mixes photographs with interviews of local Elders to tell about the rich history of the village of Kiana, Alaska. Kiana is one of nine villages in the region with cultural ties to the lands now encompassed by the Western Arctic National Parklands. The interviews include discussions of the traditional subsistence lifestyle in the village.
Land Use and Environmental Change, Selawik National Wildlife Refuge Project Jukebox.
The Land Use and Environmental Change, Selawik National Wildlife Refuge Project Jukebox contains interviews with elders in the community of Selawik, Alaska talking about the history of land use and environmental conditions on the Selawik Refuge in the early to mid-20th century, including information on traditional family settlements, muskrat hunting and trading, other key subsistence activities, and resource distribution and abundance.
The Marvin Peter Photo Album Project Jukebox
The Marvin Peter Photo Album was created in 1996 by Karen Brewster, Oral Historian with the North Slope Borough's Iñupiat History Language and Culture Division (IHLC) in Utqiaġvik, Alaska (formerly known as Barrow), with assistance from other IHLC staff members. Marvin Peter’s photographs provide an Iñupiaq perspective on life in Northern Alaska from the 1930s to 1960s during a period of great transition, and is a visual record of his intimate connection to the land and its people. The photograph album and narration contain depictions and descriptions of subsistence activities.
Pugcenar Project Jukebox.
Yup'ik Elder Oral History of the Traditional Site, Pugcenar, Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta, Southwest Alaska, which includes discussions of subsistence activities, such as fishing, hunting, and trapping.
Tuluksak Project Jukebox.
The Tuluksak Project Jukebox contains interviews with Yup’ik elders from Tuluksak, which include discussions of subsistence activities.
Unalaska Communities of Memory Project Jukebox.
The Unalaska Communities of Memory Project Jukebox contains interviews with residents of Unalaska, some of which mention participation in subsistence activities.

Credits

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services [grant number LS-250194-OLS-21].