Libraries, Archives, Museums: Subsistence primary source collections: Other organizations

Anchorage Museum

The archives at the Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center contain collections that include material related to subsistence in Alaska.

Doug Ogden Slides.
B2019.007. Doug Ogden resided in Alaska in the 1980s and 1990s. At one time, he worked for the Alaska Community Development Corporation, and provided weatherization services to residents of Bristol Bay villages. Many of the slides depict subsistence activities in the Bristol Bay region.
Joseph S. Rychetnik Collection, 1958-1999.
B2017.024. The collection consists of the freelance photojournalism work of Joseph S. Rychetnik, primarily in Alaska. Some of the slides in the collection depict people engaging in subsistence activities.
Arthur Watrous Collection, circa 1930-1940.
B1998.027. The collection consists of 77 glass lantern slides (all but two hand-tinted), 684 nitrate negatives, and 184 black-and-white prints (one real photo postcard) depicting Point Hope, King Island, Akutan, Little Diomede, and other villages in western Alaska, circa 1930-1940. Included are many images of subsistence hunting.

Alaska Resources Library and Information Services (ARLIS)

Alaska Resources Library and Information Services (ARLIS) is the result of a partnership between eight state and federal agencies in Anchorage that deal with Alaska’s natural resources. The agencies merged their library and collections and staff to create a centralized location for information on Alaskan resources in Anchorage. The founders of ARLIS include the Alaska Department of Fish and Game and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife, and there may be primary source material related to subsistence activities in ARLIS’s collections. Contact ARLIS for more information.

Credits

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services [grant number LS-250194-OLS-21].