Libraries, Archives, Museums: Russian Alaska primary sources: Alaska State Library

Alaska State Library Historical Collections

The Alaska State Library Historical Collections contain collections dating from the period of Russian settlement and the purchase of Alaska by the U.S., as well as some later collections of research on the time period.

Alaska's first coal mine and the man who opened it, 1959.
4-13-14. Typescript account includes a letter written by (Enoch) Hjalmar Furuhjelm in St. Petersburg, Russia, January 22, 1863, to his uncle.
Document ordering fines to be imposed for enlisting persons into the army who are sick or unfit for service, 1720 May 22.
MS 4-2-12 Includes original Russian document and English translation.
Documents regarding public buildings in Alaska and the planting of the Observation Stone in Sitka at the time of the transfer of Alaska from Russia, 1871-1891.
MS 4-33-8. This collection includes a description of public buildings at the post of Sitka, a map of the town and military post of Sitka, a letter describing the planting of the Observation Stone on the parade ground, and a list of returns of buildings of all kinds.
Alexander Fedorovich Dolgopolov Collection, ca. 1800-ca. 1960.
MS DOL. The collection includes six volumes from the Rezanov library, a collection of books presented by Court Chamberlain Nikolai Rezanov to the Russian colonists in Kodiak during the era of the Russian-America Company. These volumes are representative of the Russian influence in Alaska and provide a concrete tie with Alaska's past.
Papers of Dimitrii Petrovich Maksutov, 1833-1984.
MS 116. Several items focus on Maksutov's work in Sitka. Included are the imperial order appointing Maksutov as assistant to the chief administrator of the Russian American colony and instructions from the Rossiisko Amerikanskaia Kompaniia on managing the colony.
Vasilly V. Ushanoff writings, translations and other papers, 1975-1985.
MS 77. Writings, translations and other papers on Russian America
Michael Z. Vinokouroff Papers, 1764-1984.
MS 81. The collection contains material related to the Russian Orthodox Church in Alaska.
Veniaminov diary [microform], 1821-1837.
Diary of a Russian Orthodox priest who served in Russian America and later gained sainthood. Also available from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Credits

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services [grant number LS-250194-OLS-21].