HMC-0023. While this collection largely consists of the Alaska-Pacific Consolidated Mining Company (APCMCo.) administrative and operational records dating from 1936-1951, the collection also includes geological notes, maps, and sketches of the land APCMCo. owned and operated.
The Anchorage Engineering Geology Evaluation Group was formed two days after the 1964 Earthquake and consisted of forty geologists, soil scientists, and engineers from various federal and state agencies, and private companies. The group mapped and outlined slide areas, and areas of damage and potential danger. The collection consists of the group's preliminary report on earthquake damage in the Anchorage area.
HMC-0596. John James Brennan was an Alaskan geologist. The collection contains mining claim records concerning the Opal and Markup Creek area, photographs, six maps and plans of the Opal and Markup prospects near Chitina, Alaska, and two maps of the generalized geology of a portion of the North Foothills Section of the North Slope of Alaska.
HMC-0779-APU. Arthur F. Buddington was a geologist in Southeast Alaska. The collection contains photographs which document mountains, glaciers, islands, valleys, rivers, creeks and other geological features in the Wrangell, Sitka, Juneau, Ketchikan, Petersburg and Hyder districts.
HMC-1172. Don Grybeck is a geological engineer who taught economic geology, structural geology, mineralogy, and the geology of Alaska at UAF and worked as a geologist with the United States Geological Survey(USGS) branch in Alaska. The collection contains photographs, which depict geological fieldwork in Alaska, prospectors, mining equipment, towns near fieldwork sites, and rock formations.
HMC-0166-APU. A.G. Maddren was a geologist and photographer who served on expeditions in Alaska with the United States Geological Survey. The collection contains photographs taken by A.G. Maddren on his expeditions with the USGS in Alaska from 1909-1914.
HMC-0792. Dr. Ruth Ann Marie Schmidt was an Alaska geologist who worked for the United States Geological Survey and taught geology at Anchorage Community College. She later founded and chaired the Geology Department of the University of Alaska Anchorage. The collection contains records related to her career as a geologist.
HMC-0631. The Selkregg's were Anchorage residents who were largely involved in civic affairs. The collection contains research files that relate to topics such as Lidia Selkregg's civic involvement, geological matters, the 1964 Alaska earthquake, and land use.
HMC-0237. Harold Strandberg was the Vice President of the mining corporation Strandberg and Sons, Inc. His collection contains some records relating to his work as a mining engineer, including geological maps, reports, and correspondence.
HMC-1226 Professional papers and maps of a petroleum geologist.
Credits
This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.
Statewide Library Electronic Doorway