Libraries, Archives, Museums: Alaska Territorial Guard primary sources: UAF Rasmuson Library, Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives

UAF Rasmuson Library, Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives

The Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives has three units with materials related to the Territorial Guard: the Archives which holds documents and photographs, the Film Archives which holds moving image materials, and the Oral History program which holds audio recordings.

Archives collections

The links below are to the main page for the Archives. Click on the Search the Archives Catalog link and search by collection name to find additional information about the collections.

Alaska Territorial Guard Collection, 1940s
This collection consists of an Alaska Territorial Guard Certificate of Service, an Alaska Territorial Guard medal, ATG posters, ATG patches and discharge papers.
Laurel L. Bland Collection, circa 1900-1905
The collection consists of research files. Included are rosters from the Kotzebue unit of the Territorial Guard.
Ferris Copper World War II in Alaska Photographs, circa 1941-1945
The collection includes an image or images of a unit of the Territorial Guard.
Otto W. Geist Papers, 1927-1963
The collection includes a large section of documents relating to his work with the Alaska Territorial Guard.
Magnus Colcord "Rusty" Heurlin Collection, circa 1917-1994
During World War II, Heurlin served as a captain in the Alaska Territorial Guard. His collection may contain materials related to his time in the Guard.
Holger Jorgensen Photograph Collection, circa 1914-1950
Holger Jorgensen joined the Alaska Territorial Guard when he was 15. The photographs may include images related to the Guard.
Kenneth L. Cohen papers, 1937-1964
Cohen served as a captain in the Territorial Guard in 1943 and his diaries include comments on that activity.

Film Archives

Otto Geist Collection, 1942-1945
Includes two films with content related to the Alaska Territorial Guard, primarily in Nome.
Muktuk Marston film collection, 1941-1951
Includes several films with content related to the Territorial Guard.
Uncle Sam's men
Relates the work of the Alaska Territorial Guard during World War II, including the participation of the native Eskimo population. Includes interviews with surviving participants. Bethel Broadcasting, Inc. [production] ; produced by KYUK-TV. ; written, produced and directed by Mike Martz.

Oral History Program

The links below are to the page for the Oral History program. Use the Search the library catalog search box to pull up additional information about each item.

Wesley Uġiaqtaq Aiken interview, 2017
Oral history videorecording that includes memories of serving in the Territorial Guard.
Greta Akpik interview
Oral history interview that includes discussion on wartime conditions in Barrow.
John Haile Cloe interview, 2016
Oral history videorecording of an interview with an Alaskan military historian that includes content on the Territorial Guard.
Claude "Bud" File interview, 2018
Oral history interview with a man who served in the Alaska Territorial Guard.
Jens Forshaug interview, 1987
Oral history interview with an individual who served in the Territorial Guard and was involved with the organization of the Guard in Candle and Buckland.
Brother Francis Fox interviews, 1983
Two interviews that include content related to Brother Fox's time serving in the Territorial Guard.
Ernest Gruening interview, 1967
Interview with a former Governor of Alaska including a discussion regarding organizing the Territorial Guard.
Muktuk Marston interviews, 1970, 1976
Two separate interviews with Muktuk Marston Includes information about recruiting Alaska Native individuals for participation in the Guard and organizing the Guard. The 1976 recording was part of KUAC's Potlatch radio program.
Richard Marvin Sr. interview, 2008
Includes information on the formation of the Territorial Guard.
Dick and Wilma Stokes interview, 2008
Oral history recording that includes discussion of the Territorial Guard.

Credits

This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.