Libraries, Archives, Museums: Exxon Valdez Oil Spill archival collections: Alaska State Library Historical Collections

Alaska State Library Historical Collections

Historical Collections may have additional primary sources related to the oil spill. Please consult directly with Historical Collections for additional information.

Exxon Valdez oil spill information file, 1989 March 4-1991 August 28
Primarily clippings from Alaska newspapers; also includes magazine articles, a map (The Oil and its Impact), correspondence, public service messages, and an index of names from Anchorage Daily News articles. Newspaper clippings were provided by a commercial clipping service.
Steve Nelson papers
Steve Nelson filmed, edited, produced, and compiled Exxon Valdez spill-related footage for Governor Steve Cowper’s Office. The collection includes guides and documents accompanying the 104 Video Recordings (AV 025) related to the Exxon Valdez oil spill, 1989-1991, documented by the State of Alaska Governor’s Office. The guides are descriptions of the 335 VHS tapes and 2,018 slides located in the Alaska State Archives, Record Group 348 Series 612.
• U.S. Coast Guard, 17th District Photograph Collection, circa 1915-[ongoing], (bulk 1989)
An ongoing collection of U.S. Coast Guard activities in Alaska, primarily the 17th Division, which includes slides and photographs of the Exxon Valdez oil spill.

Credits

This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.