Libraries, Archives, Museums: Exxon Valdez Oil Spill archival collections: UAF Rasmuson Library, Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives

Alaska and Polar Regions Collections and Archives, UAF Rasmuson Library

Alaska Film Archives
The Film Archives holds many hours of moving image footage related to the oil spill. To find listings of the materials, keyword search their catalog using Exxon Valdez.

Archives (photos and manuscripts) holds a variety of materials related to the oil spill. Some collections are listed below, but the Archives may have additional materials.

Richard Newman Photographs
This collection contains slides and photographic prints of the Exxon Valdez recovery operations with emphasis on human component, 1989-1990.
Prince William Sound Users Association Collection
The collection consists of 29 beach survey maps, showing oiled and non-oiled beaches after the Exxon Valdez oil spill. The collection also includes public relations materials from the Prince William Sound Users Association.

Oral History holds many interviews regarding the effects of the oil spill and audio of news coverage of the spill. Search the catalog on their website for additional information. Some materials are listed below.

Project Jukebox: Exxon Valdez oil spill
The Exxon Valdez Oil Spill Project Jukebox contains interviews with people directly caught up in the oil spill. People talk about how the spill impacted their lives and livelihoods, the cleanup work they did and whether the cleanup was effective, impacts to the fish and wildlife, long-term effects of the spill, and the regulatory and governmental structure of oil spill prevention and response.
Valdez students, Gail Staker and Nat Reishman, are interviewed by Bill Campbell on January 4, 1990 in Valdez, Alaska
Call number: ORAL HISTORY 2017-05-10

Credits

This guide is supported in whole or in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Alaska State Library.