PCA 233. Includes photographs of various locations in the Aleutian and Pribilof Islands taken during World War II.

PCA 98. This collection contains slides and photographs taken by various photographers before and during the Aleutian campaign of World War II. Included are images of U.S. Naval officers and enlisted men, many who are identified, and locations in the Aleutian Islands, including some aerial views and bomb damage.

MS 4-11-10B. Includes report, cover letters, and photocopies of two articles from Alaska Magazine on Attu and the Aleutians; describes conditions, problems of the evacuation and relocation effort and agencies involved.

PCA 425-2. The images include photos and cartoons based on military life, particularly Aleutian Islands, during World War II and a map, in Japanese, of Adak in the Aleutian Islands.

PCA 388. Alaska Highway construction possibly during World War II, including road building machinery construction workers and construction camps. The photographs are not identified; information supplied by staff is bracketed. Some of the photographs show Alaska Native families, moose and bear.

PCA 372. The collection consists of 44, 8x10 inch, black and white images from the U.S. Army Signal Corps. The images depict the construction of an airport and the surveying and construction of the Alaska-Canadian (ALCAN) Highway during World War II by over 11,000 army personnel and 7,500 civilians.

PCA 376. Alaska Highway Construction, World War II. Images of Alaska Highway construction, bridges, bridge construction along the Alaska Highway, soldiers, tanks, military equipment, road building equipment, Quonset huts, Fort St. John Trading Co. (#281), Headquarters Alaska Highway, Dawson Creek, Whitehorse.

MS 126. The papers are comprised of typescripts of 164 letters written by Mr. Gile to his family in 1943 while he worked as a bookkeeper and timekeeper in the Yukon for the E. G. Elliot Company, one of several contractors building the Alcan Highway during World War II.

PCA 483. This collection contains 96 negative images that illustrate Mr. Nekoranec’s living conditions while stationed in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.

PCA 510. This collection contains two photograph albums with 320 black and white images. The images are circa WWII in Alaska. They primarily depict the life and work of military personnel.

PCA 390. The collection include 53 official U.S. Navy photographs taken during World War II in Sitka, Adak, Amchitka, and the Pribilof and Aleutian Islands.

PCA 337. Most incidents and events in Alaska’s aviation history between 1929 and 1940 are covered in Jarman’s images. The photographs include images

PCA 362. Images (slides and photographs) include military life at Seward during World War II, as well as miscellaneous military papers and Judson Henderson’s autograph book.

MS 4-11-10. research and documentation of evacuation and internment of Alaskan Japanese and Aleuts during World War II.

MS 85. This collection includes 20 transcripts of interviews with 17 people on topics including Kodiak during World War II.

MS 44. The audio tapes provide accounts of 15 persons involved in Alaska's aviation history as bush pilots, airline owners; also includes American and Japanese accounts of military aviation during World War II in Alaska.

MS 4-11-20. Report from New Guinea, dated January 6, 1944, relating to Riegle's posting in Juneau, Alaska; relates social and military activities, and personnel information in Juneau during World War II.

MS 73. Partial contents: --The eighteenth engineers regiment (combat) in Yukon Territory, 1942-1943 by Fred Rust, --History of the western defense command, v. 1, --Aleutian naval operation, Mar. 42-Feb. 43 (from Japanese monograph, No. 88), --History of the eleventh fighter squadron activation [Jan. 1941] through 31 December 1943, --Sources of information about World War II in Alaska and the debris left behind.

PCA 175. The collection includes images of military forts, telegraph stations, World War II, Army personnel, prisoners of war, and general views of Alaska. Photographs numbered 1-41 are from the National Archives and 42-193 are from the Pentagon.

PCA 296. The photos were taken by C.W. Amos enroute to Cape Spencer and during the time he was stationed there as a Coast Guard radioman and weather observer. Photos include travel to the Cape Spencer Lighthouse, winter storms, accident off Five Finger Lighthouse, Christmas celebrations, other members of the lighthouse crew, and daily activities.

MS 4-38-3. The papers in this collection include letters to Jessica Suhm Jorgensen from family members (Tecla and Dr. Leslie White), four teaching contracts for teaching in Unalaska 1935-1939, three Alaska teacher’s certificates for years 1933-1936, 1936-1939, 1939-1942. Some of the personal letters are World War II correspondence.

PCA 430. The collection contains 92 black and white, mostly 8x10, images of military installations, construction, personnel and activity on Kiska Island during World War II.

PCA 332. The images document Captain Kaufman’s life as a pilot in the Air Force during the 1940s in Alaska and Europe.

PCA 518. Documents L.P. Callahan’s activities while employed by Libby McNeil and Libby Canneries, ca. 1941 – 1959. Canneries include Ekuk Cannery, George Inlet Cannery, Kenai Cannery, Koggiung Cannery, Moser Bay Cannery, Libbyville Cannery, Taku Cannery, Yakutat Cannery.

PCA-306. This photograph collection documents the activities of Drs. George Dale and Evelyn Butler as they traveled and worked in Alaska from 1934-1950. The majority of the photos cover the period from 1939-1942, including George Dale's coordination of the Aleut evacuation from Atka. During this transition, he photographed the evacuees leaving Atka and arriving in various southeast Alaska relocation camps. The 90 photos that comprise the Aleut evacuation provide a rare insight into the relocation process and the daily lives of the Aleut refugees.

PCA 343. The mostly 2 ½ x 3 ½ in. black and white images show Evan Hill and his friends (soldiers and civilians) in Company “A” and “C” during the years of World War II, early 1940’s, in Haines (Chilkoot Barracks), Skagway, Moses Point, Dutch Harbor, Fairbanks, St. Paul Island, Klukwan and Carcross B.C.

PCA 502. This collection includes correspondence and photographs concerning Fred Geeslin’s work with the Alaska Indian Service, including information and photographs concerning relocation and resettlement of Aleuts to Southeast Alaska, during and after WWII.

PCA 80. Captain James Simpson MacKinnon, Chief of Staff, 17th Naval District, presented these photographs of the American occupation of Kiska in the Aleutian Islands, 1943, and the surrender of North Pacific Japanese forces at Hokkaido.

PCA 338. Thornton served in the U.S. Navy during World War II as an aerial photographer at Dutch Harbor, Alaska. In addition to photographs, the collection includes correspondence, stationery, photographic manuals, programs, newspapers and other papers relating to military life.

PCA 64. Photographs of communication stations, equipment and personnel in Alaska, including during World War II when ACS was involved in military communications.

MS 253. The collection contains original color slides, dating from J. Malcolm Greany’s 1941 visit to Attu; other photographs include color print copies of the slides, and also black and white prints taken on Attu. In addition, there are field reports, journal entries, and numerous papers relating to Greany’s work for the Fish and Wildlife Service and to his drafts of two articles: “Island Trail to Asia” and “The Last Days of Attu.” Finally, there are photocopies of newspaper articles relating to the experiences of the Aleuts during World War II, and a copy of a magazine article, “They Came to Attu,” by Corey Ford.

PCA 525-8. This collection contains photographs of Harold M. Fine, his military records, photographs of the surrender of Northern Japan by the Japanese September 8, 1945 on the ship Panamint and photographs of President Roosevelt visiting troops in the Aleutian Islands, August, 1944.

PCA 425-33. The C.E. Bosserman collection has 8-8x10 photographs of WWII medical facilities, and chapel on Adak Island, Alaska. It also has 1 postcard of Anchorage.

PCA 567. This collection contains black and white photos and publications relating to Wheat Hall sports complex at Attu, Alaska, Naval Air Station and Farragut, Idaho, Naval Training site (some persons identified). Documents and clippings related to WWII, Aleutians, baseball, boxing, Fleet Air Wing Four, Attu, Aleutians, ca. 1940s.

MS 286. Biographical narratives, black and white photographic images, and copies of documents of eight Japanese-American families residing in Juneau, when they were sent to incarceration camps during WWII.