Libraries, Archives, Museums: World War II primary sources: Alaska State Archives

Alaska State Archives

The Alaska State Archives holds the records of the State of Alaska, as well records from Alaska's territorial government. In addition to the records listed below, you can search the State Archives collection catalog.

Executive Vice President Records
530. A8- Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. RG226- Alaska Railroad Corporation. 530- Executive Vice President Records. Includes information regarding the Alaska Steamship Corporation, tourism, facilities, rolling stock, community relations and World War II.
Subject files, 1951-1960
729-0018. A100- District and Territorial Agencies. RG101- Office of the District and Territorial Governor. 729- Subject files, 1953-1959. Includes World War II Veterans Board.
General Manager Subject Files, 1942-1976
1867-0015. A8- Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. RG226- Alaska Railroad Corporation. 1867- General Manager Records. Includes a photographic history of the railroad during the Second World War.
Subject files, 1985 - State agencies Div. of Elections -- Citizens Committee on World War II documentary film
98-12372. A1- Office of the Governor. RG34- Office of the Lt. Governor. 98- Subject files (includes speeches and calendars)
Historic projects files, 1978-1983 - Alaska history textbook project files: #2 Interior -- Alaska in World War II
1347-13555. A10- Department of Natural Resources. RG251- Office of History and Archaeology. 1347- Historic project files. 1347-13555- Historic projects files, 1978-1983 - Alaska history textbook project files: #2 Interior -- Alaska in World War II
Subject files, 1942-1948 49: Federal Government - Department of War -- no file #: Department of War - Unified Command
727-18875. A100- District and Territorial Agencies. RG101- Office of the District and Territorial Governor. 727- Subject files, 1934-1953. Includes Federal Government - Department of War - Casualties During World War II (Alaska) and other files related to the military in Alaska.
Remote sensing -- World War II debris cleanup-Lower Alaska Peninsula, 1981
A8- Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. RG334- Division of Local Government Assistance, c. 1975-1999. 173- Subject files
Historic projects files, 1982-1988 - Alaska at War [video]
1347-0001. A10- Department of Natural Resources. RG251- Office of History and Archaeology. 1347- Historic project files. Documentary film examines the Japanese invasion of Alaska during World War II and its impact on Alaska: the buildup of airfields, harbors and roads (including the Alaska-Canada Military Highway). Documents the Aleut war refugees, bombing of Dutch Harbor and subsequent Japanese occupation of Attu and Kiska Islands.
Historic projects files, 1988-1992
1347-0004. A10- Department of Natural Resources. RG251- Office of History and Archaeology. 1347- Historic project files. Project research files, field notebooks and summary reports. Includes World War II in Alaska : the northwest route; ferrying lend-lease aircraft to the Soviet Union / Jay H. Moor and Alaska at War / Aurora Films [background material].
Subject files, 1940-1952 Reports and transcribed testimony of Governor Gruening
727-0008. A100- District and Territorial Agencies. RG101- Office of the District and Territorial Governor. 727- Subject files, 1934-1953. Includes reports on Public Works projects, World War II, and mental health in Alaska.
General Manager Subject Files, 1924-1956 - (Decimal Files) 023.6 -- 024.7
A8- Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. RG226- Alaska Railroad Corporation. 1867- General Manager Records. Subject files on metals. Note metal shortage during and after World War II.
Historic projects files, 1944-2017 - Photos of historic sites and structures
A10- Department of Natural Resources. RG251- Office of History and Archaeology. 1347- Historic project files. Includes photographs of World War II battlefields.
Subject files, 1925-1955 - 714th Railway Operating Battalion -- Labor Agreements
A8- Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. RG226- Alaska Railroad Corporation. 1871- Supt. of Transportation / Traffic Division Manager Records. Contains subject files on timetables, ships, union negotiations and agreements, and the work of the 714th Railway Operating Battalion during the World War II.
Statement of Service during World War II Records, 1948-1949
1893. A100- District and Territorial Agencies. RG644- Selective Services Office. Per the 1949 Code of Federal Regulations section 1670.13, State (and Territorial) Directors of Selective Service Offices were given orders to supply States with OSSR Form 4, Statement of Service during World War II records for State government use. In 1948 and 1949 the Alaska Territorial Selective Service Office created Statement of Service during World War II records for Alaskans that served in World War II. These forms document each individual's service during the war, including rank, duties, locations, campaigns, battles, commendations, and other information about their service.
Subject files, 1941-1948 76-4: General Subjects - Civil Defense - Office of Defense Transport -- 80: General Subjects - Victory Gardens
A100- District and Territorial Agencies. RG101- Office of the District and Territorial Governor. 727- Subject files, 1934-1953. This box contains files on the internment of Japanese nationals from Alaska during WWII. Includes correspondence about internment, including letters from Japanese nationals. Also includes files on Aleut Relocation to Southeast Alaska during WWII.
Subject files, 1942-1947 no file #: General Subjects - Victory Gardens - Alaska Native Brotherhood (ANB) and Alaska Native Sisterhood (ANS) (3 files) -- 81: General Subjects - Morale
727-18951. A100- District and Territorial Agencies. RG101- Office of the District and Territorial Governor. 727- Subject files, 1934-1953This box contains 5 folders of material. 1 folder concerns the Morale of Alaskans during WWII, Civilian Defense, and then 3 folders contain various correspondence, newsletters, resolutions, and convention meeting minutes from the Alaska Native Brotherhood and Sisterhood from the 1940s as obtained by the Governor.

Credits

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services [grant number LS-250194-OLS-21].