Libraries, Archives, Museums: Copyright for Libraries, Archives and Museums: Other considerations

Free and Commercial Licensing

Creative Commons
See also the Creative Commons search options. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link.
GNU Public License
GNU compatible licenses
Deciding whether and how to license your content
From the Digital Media Law Project.
LibLicense
Access model licensing terms and other licensing information geared towards librarians licensing digital content for their users.

There are many licenses besides those listed here. Some may be standardized, and some not. Be sure to check the terms of any material that may be licensed to you or your institution before using it. When licensing your own material, consider your terms carefully.

Copyright Clearance

If you can find the author, consider contacting them directly for permission. Often, they are very happy to share. Even when an author doesn't hold the copyright, they often have reprints, other resources, or suggestions. Be sure to verify that they still hold the copyright, though.

Collective Licensing Agencies
The University System of Georgia has pulled together a great list of licensing agencies by type of content, covering everything from comics to music to works in print.

Cultural Awareness

Privacy and Confidentiality

Alaska Library Confidentiality Law
Alaska Statute 40.25.140
Alaska Internet Circle of Safety
Internet safety concerns may be applicable with OWL as well. Consider when choosing material to present, deciding whether or not to record a presentation, and how to set up your local area, especially when children may be involved.

Considerations for Archives, Special Collections, and Archival Material

Copyright and Unpublished Material
A great FAQ, with links to additional resources, from the Intellectual Property Working Group of the Society of American Archivists.
Copyright Exceptions for Archives: A Checklist
From the International Council on Archives, by Jean Dryden, on behalf of ICA’s Advisory/Working Group on Copyright and ICA-EGLM 24 October 2017
Responsible Access Workflows
Workflows from the Berkeley Library, University of California, for evaluating the ability to provide access based on copyright, contractual access restrictions, privacy, and ethics.
Copyright and Cultural Institutions: Guidelines for Digitization for U.S. Libraries, Archives, and Museums
by Peter B. Hirtle, Emily Hudson, and Andrew T. Kenyon, at the SSRN

Considerations for Museums

Copyright, Museums, and Licensing of Art Images
Results of a research grant to copyright expert Kenneth Crews from the Samuel H. Kress Foundation. Part of the outcome was the article below, "Museum Policies and Art Images".
Museum Policies and Art Images: Conflicting Objectives and Copyright Overreaching
Article by copyright expert Kenneth Crews, this is available for free download from the SSRN. Originally published in the Fordham Intellectual Property, Media & Entertainment Law Journal, Vol. 22, p. 795, 2012.
The Public Domain vs. the Museum: The Limits of Copyright and Reproductions of Two-dimensional Works of Art
By Grischka Petri, published in the Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies, 12(1), p.Art. 8, 2014, DOI: http://doi.org/10.5334/jcms.1021217
Copyright and Cultural Institutions: Guidelines for Digitization for U.S. Libraries, Archives and Museums
by Peter B. Hirtle, Emily Hudson, and Andrew T. Kenyon, at the SSRN
Managing Intellectual Property for Museums
By Ms. Rina Elster Pantalony, from WIPO, the World Intellectual Property Organization.

Public Domain and Royalty Free Material

Public Domain/Royalty Free Multimedia

Rights Statements

RightsStatements.org
"RightsStatements.org provides 12 standardized rights statements that can be used by cultural heritage institutions to communicate the copyright and re-use status of digital objects to the public."