It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID Closure: Due to current local Covid-19 conditions, the Father Andrew P. Kashevaroff building will remain closed to the public through Saturday October 17, 2020. Watch this space for updates.
Holiday Closure: Alaska Day:
Alaska State Library, Archives, & Museum in Juneau will be closed on Monday, Oct. 19.
Sheldon Jackson Museum in Sitka will be closed on Tuesday, Oct. 20.
Article/Copy Request Form (for State Employees statewide and ALC cardholders in Juneau):
Request scans of journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, and other photocopy requests, regardless of their original format.
Book/Microfilm Loan Request Form (for State Employees and ALC cardholders in Juneau only):
Request physical books, conference proceedings, audiovisual materials including microfiche and microfilm items. Please check the Alaska Library Catalog (ALC) for the title before submitting a request. If the book is available from one of the ALC libraries, you may place a hold on the title directly from the catalog. For State Employees outside of Juneau, we recommend that you make requests for physical items through a library in your community. If that service is not available from your local library, contact us to figure out a solution.
Are there copyright restrictions?
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright.
Please place your requests early. It can take 2-4 weeks for physical items to arrive in the mail. Most copy requests take between 1-5 days but can take up to two weeks depending on the request.
Patrons will be notified when their material arrives or if it cannot be obtained.
Audio-visual, recently published and popular materials may not be immediately available through ILL.
Patrons should pick up and return materials promptly. If renewal is requested, we will contact the lender.
Contact ILL staff at (907) 465-1314 or 465-2458 with questions or concerns about your request.
$10.00 will be charged for a rush request (this charge is waived for state agency work).
Lost or damaged books will be billed to your library account at the rate we are charged by the lender.
If you need additional information or assistance, please visit Ask a Librarian form. If you would prefer to talk to a person, call our Reference Line at (907) 465-2920.
We're open Monday - Friday, 8 AM - 4:30 PM, except on state-observed holidays.