Libraries, Archives, Museums: Programming Ideas for Librarians: Home

Blogs

Gaming in the Library

Crash Course in Gaming by Suellen S. Adams
ISBN: 9781610690461
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Gaming supplies more than just visual stimulation and empty entertainment; it can also promote socialization as well as the learning of both traditional and new literacies required to succeed in the modern world.

Gamer's Advisory 101: Breaking the Monopoly

Center for Interactive Learning (CILC)

Center for Interactive Learning & Collaboration (CILC)
CILC is a non-profit that specializes in bringing together those looking for video conferencing programming with those providing it.

Program Evaluation

Program Evaluation Template
Use a program evaluation to determine how successful your program ultimately was.

Project Outcome
The Project Outcome toolkit provides libraries with FREE access to quick and simple patron surveys, an easy-to-use Survey Portal to collect their outcomes, ready-made reports and visually interactive Data Dashboards for analyzing the data, and various resources to help move libraries from implementing surveys to taking action using the results.

Controversial Programs and Speakers

Responding to and Preparing for Controversial Programs and Speakers Q&A
ALA has created an online resource to help libraries respond to community concerns regarding controversial programs or speakers.

Book Discussions

Book Club in a Bag
Need multiple copies of a single title for a book discussion? The Anchorage Public Library offers Book Club in a Bag. Each bag contains 10 copies of a book, an author biography, discussion questions and book reviews. To identify available titles, search the Alaska Library Catalog for keywords "book club bag", then request a bag through ILL.
Murder in the Stacks
Interactive murder mystery games which are sure to get you and your patrons moving in the library.
Reading Group Choices
Reading Group Choices selects discussable books and suggests discussion topics for reading groups.
Reading Group Guides
An online community for reading groups.

Book to Action Toolkit
Book-to-Action is a program that extends the
library’s role in supporting community-building activities by augmenting the conventional book group with a civic engagement
project.

Programming Resources

49 Alaska Writing Center
49 Writer's supports the artistic development of writers throughout Alaska by developing programs designed to foster a community of writers and build an audience for literature.
Alaska Center for the Book
The Alaska Center for the Book sponsors programs that highlight Alaska's literary heritage and calls attention to the importance of books, reading, literacy and libraries.
Alaska State Council on the Arts
The Alaska State Council on the Arts is a state agency that fosters the development of the arts for all Alaskans through education, partnerships, grants and services.
Alaska Writer's Directory
The Alaskan Writers Directory makes it easy for event hosts, literary organizers, arts administrators, librarians, booksellers, and readers to get in touch with writers.
Banned Book Week
The Banned Books Week Coalition is a national alliance of diverse organizations joined by a commitment to increase awareness of the annual celebration of the freedom to read. The Coalition seeks to engage various communities and inspire participation in Banned Books Week through education, advocacy, and the creation of programming about the problem of book censorship.
Celebration Weeks & Promotional Events
ALA's offices and divisions sponsor a variety of library promotions throughout the year that libraries of all types all across the country can get involved with to promote libraries and create awareness of library issues. Check out the links below to see how you can bring these promotions to your library.
Culturally Responsive Guidelines for Alaska Public Libraries
These guidelines were developed, " to help public librarians examine how they respond to the specific informational, educational and cultural needs of their Alaska Native users and communities.

"These Guidelines are predicated on the belief that culturally appropriate service to indigenous peoples is a fundamental principle of Alaska public libraries, and that the best professional practices in this regard are associated with culturally responsive services, collections, programs, staff, and overall library environment."
Holidays and observances in the United States
How to Serve the World @ Your Library
Programs developed for non-English speakers, including effectiveness of services, barriers to library use, most frequently used services and most success library programs by language served.
Keys to Engaging Older Adults @ Your Library
This toolkit responds to concerns of librarians across the country who are providing services for the growing number of older adults in their communities
Library Programming on a budget
Search for low budget programming ideas using the Programming Librarians idea database.
Programming Librarian
ProgrammingLibrarian.org is a place for library professionals to share, learn and be inspired to present excellent programming for their communities. Through resources, ideas and professional development opportunities, we seek to help libraries fill their role as cultural and civic hubs in their communities.
Sample Programming Ideas: Showcase the Vastness of Your Library's Resources
The ALA has five key action areas that drive its mission to promote the highest quality library services and access to information for all people. These key action areas are a perfect way to organize a series of activities.
The Storyteller's Guild of Anchorage
The guild meets once a month (except Dec, June, July, Aug). Meetings are open to all storytellers and aspiring storytellers who wish to grow in the practice of this art. You can contact several of the members of the guild individually by email from this website.
Tips for Teachers: Developing Instructional Materials about American Indians
Prepared by Debbie Reese and Jean Mendoza

Programming Books

Adult Programs in the Library by Brett W. Lear
ISBN: 9780838911402
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Programming is an important means of not only drawing new people to the library but also better serving existing patrons. This edition includes Updated chapters on basics such as funding, crafting guidelines, topic selection, publicity, post-program evaluations, and more A new section on technology, with ideas for online book discussions, offering programs via Skype, and turning programs into podcasts Methods for tailoring programs for specific groups, such as men, baby boomers, and seniors Sample newsletters, press releases, scheduling forms, and program models, all available as downloads via weblinks Walking the reader through every aspect of adult programming, this new edition of a tried-and-true book is truly a librarian's best friend.
Bringing the Arts into the Library by Carol Smallwood
ISBN: 9780838911754
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
Using a library's facilities to bring arts to the community is a wonderful marketing and outreach opportunity, a tangible way to show the public that libraries offer value, thus shoring up grassroots support. Carol Smallwood has combed the country finding examples of programs implemented by a variety of different types of libraries to enrich, educate, and entertain patrons through the arts.
Hosting a Library Mystery by Elizabeth M. Karle
ISBN: 9780838909867
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Whether it's solving the morning crossword puzzle, working out whodunit in a best-selling thriller, or participating in the library's mystery book club, everyone loves a mystery In 'Hosting a Library Mystery', Elizabeth Karle capitalizes on our delight of the genre through this unique, interactive programming guide.

Event Planning Checklist
Programming Librarian Blog Post:
Event Planning Checklist
August 9, 2017
By Jessica C. Haas, Tribal Librarian, Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation, Smith River, Calif.

Public Library Coordinator

Subjects: Library Outreach

Traveling Exhibits

Anne Frank Traveling Exhibits
Four Traveling Exhibitions
Anne Frank: A History for Today, Reading & Writing with Anne Frank, Anne Frank: A Private Photo Album,
Art and Propaganda in Nazi-Occupied Holland
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
The Gilder Lehrman Institute offers traveling panel exhibitions for display at schools, libraries, and other sites nationwide. These informative, colorful displays cover ten major topics in American history.
Glenn Traveling Exhibits
The NASA Glenn Research Center can bring the excitement of aeronautics and space exploration to your institution or event with a traveling exhibit.
NASA Langley Research Center Traveling Exhibits
Look no further than the NASA Langley Exhibit Program, where exhibits, displays and artifacts are made available for loan to museums, schools and other educational organizations.
Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service
The Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service (SITES) has been sharing the wealth of Smithsonian collections and research programs with millions of people outside of Washington, DC, for more than 50 years.

Passive Programming Ideas

Nothing Passive About It: Self-Directed Programming
Library Journal Article
Written by Erica Freudenberger
Sep 23, 2019
Passive Programs and Other Experiential Library Doings
A compilation of self-directed learning activities that can be held at the library.
That's What She Said (Display)
While this display was created specifically to celebrate Women's History Month, this program format could easily be adapted for other purposes.

Professional Development Resources on Programming

Infopeople

Funds for Programming

Free Grant Search
Demco maintains an extensive grant database and makes it freely available.