Skip to main content

We've updated our open hours & safety measures. Check for recent changes.

Alaska's Digital Newspaper Program: Home

The Alaska State Library was awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities and Library of Congress grant for the 2016-2018 cycle of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). The purpose of the program is to digitally preserve and provide free access to historical newspapers in a searchable online database, Chronicling America. Currently, Alaska has added over 103,000 pages to Chronicling America. Available titles are linked below.

For more information & project updates, follow us on our WordPress blog or Instagram @alaskahistoricalnewspapers. Learn more about the history of the Alaska Newspaper project.

Advisory Committee Members

  • Jo Antonson
    Alaska State Historian
    Office of History and Archeology, Anchorage
  • Jason Russell
    Archivist/Technical Services Librarian
    Tuzzy Consortium Library
  • Rebecca Moorman
    Head of Technical Services
    Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage
    Alaska Pacific University, with a degree in history
  • David Noon
    Associate Professor of History
    University of Alaska Southeast
  • Marjorie Thompson
    Digital Photographic Services
    Rasmuson Library, University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Jennifer Ward, MLIS
    Associate Professor of Library and Information Science, Outreach Services Librarian
    Egan Library

Past Advisory Committee Members

  • Chris Allan
    Gates of the Arctic National Park and Preserve
    National Park Service, Fairbanks
  • Michael Blackwell
    Consulting Geological Engineer
    Historical Researcher, Gastineau Historical Society
  • Michael Carey
    Editorial columnist
    Formerly editorial page editor for the Alaska Dispatch News (formerly called the Anchorage Daily News)
  • James Brooks
    State Reporter
    Juneau Empire
  • Esther Ilutsik
    Director of Yup'ik Studies with the Southwest Region Schools
  • Barbara Thompson
    Second Vice Chair
    Alaska State Board of Education