Preparing Alaska's Cultural Organizations for Emergencies Course

Module Introduction

Webinar

Assignments

• Read Field Guide to Emergency Response Section III (p 35-52)
• Watch the relevant segments of the DVD found in the back pocket of the book or those same videos posted online.
• Develop your response and recovery guidelines. 
• Determine where you can base your response activities.
  • Command Post
  • Staging area
  • Triage area
  • Salvage/Treatment areas
  • Storage- long and short term
  • Freezer location

Depending on the size of the incident, all these areas could be in one spot, could be somewhere in a non-affected area of your building, or within a block or on the other side of town.  Consider different options. Now is a good time to arrange with building owners the use of their space in the case of an emergency. Include this information, along with maps of the various locations in your Binder plan.

• Choose salvage instructions and guidelines that make most sense for your institution and add these as an appendix to your plan. You can find these instructions in the Resources section of this module, your textbook and elsewhere.

Resources

Fire behavior

• Legacy Room VS Modern Room (video). This video compares the growth of a fire in a room with 2 types of furniture.  Remain onboard afterwards as after the ad, the video begins an excellent series of short fire behavior videos.

Response:

• Course textbook: Field Guide to Emergency Response
• Endangered Heritage: Emergency Evacuation of Heritage Collections from ICCROM discusses how to evacuate a collection.
• NPS Museum Handbook Emergency Planning. Part I: Museum Collections. Response for various hazards.  Begin pg.10:65. 
• First Aid to Heritage in Times of Crisis Toolkit

Salvage:

• Emergency Response and Salvage Wheel (sent to you)
• Useful Conserv O Grams for this section include:
  • Salvage of Water-Damaged Collections:Salvage at a Glance
  • Salvage at a Glance,Part I:Paper Based Collections
  • Salvage at a Glance,Part II:Non-Paper Based Archival Collections
  • Salvage at a Glance, Part III: Object Collections
  • Salvage at a Glance, Part IV: Natural History Collections
  • Salvage at a Glance, Part V: Textiles
  • Volcanic Ash: Cleaning Museum Objects    
• A chart depicting salvage by materials from the Western Association for Art Conservation.
• Salvage Operations for Water Damaged Archival Collections: A Second Chance by Betty Walsh
• Be Prepared: Guidelines for Small Museums for Writing a Disaster Preparedness Plan: pg 97-108 contains salvage procedures
• NPS Museum Handbook Emergency Planning. Part I: Museum Collections. Salvage procedures.  Begin pg.10:84. 

Damage Assessment Forms:

• Field Guide Assessment Form from Field Guide to Emergency Response:  
• Rapid Collections Assessment Form from Field Guide to Emergency Response