Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Alaska State Publications: Information for Publishing Agencies

Information for Publishing Agencies

Alaska Statutes require State agencies to provide State Publications to the Alaska State Library.  These publications are important to both members of the public and researchers within State government.  The statutory definition of State agency for this purpose is broad, covering all "state departments, divisions, agencies, boards, associations, commissions, corporations, and offices, and the University of Alaska and its affiliated research institutes."  See Alaska Statute 14.56.   If you are wondering whether a particular document or publication you prepare is covered by the State Publications Program, see the definition in the sidebar to the right. 

During the Production Phase

To ensure that your publications are easy to find, read, and print, check out our 1/2 hour webinar, Best Practices for State Publications (YouTube, 28 min).  To ensure that the publication can be used by as many people as possible, follow the ADA Coordinator's guidance and strive to make them WCAG 2.1 AA compliant.

The Alaska State Library also archives State agency websites.  To ensure that the web crawler used to archive agency websites can do its work, publications specialists and web developers should ensure that any robots.txt file or other mechanisms do not block the crawler (archive.org_bot) from accessing servers where public web content is stored. The crawler is polite, and rarely impacts site performance. If you have concerns about this, please contact us and we will work with you. 

 

Distribute Tangible Publications to the Library

There are three ways that state agencies can send tangible publications to the Alaska State Publications Program.

  1. If you are in Juneau and have access to interoffice mail, please send your six copies (five if the publication is available online) to Mail Stop 0571, Attention Government Publications.
  2. If you do not have access to interoffice mail and your office is located in downtown Juneau, please call 465-1300 to arrange for pickup of your publications.
  3. All other offices should send their copies by regular mail to Alaska State Library, Attn Government Publications, PO Box 110571, Juneau, AK 99811-0571.

Notify the Library of New Digital Publications and Websites

If you do not produce a particular publication in tangible form, you should provide digital copies instead.  You can send the URL (Internet Address) of your publication to asldocs@alaska.gov.  If the publication is not on the internet, email the file to asldocs@alaska.gov or, if the file is too large for email, submit it through Alaska ZendTo. When you send us your digital publication, we will usually either ensure that it is captured in our web archives, and/or will add preservation and access copies to our State Publications Digital Library.

Because we strive to archive State agency websites, please also notify us of any new domain name used by your agency, so that we can be sure to include it in our next Alaska State Government website crawl.  Email your new domain name to asldocs@alaska.gov.

Survey for state agencies

Want to minimize the number of times your agency needs to notify the library of serial publications?  Answer a few short questions and provide us with a list of your annual reports, newsletters, technical report series and the like through this survey.   We've created an optional spreadsheet form you can use for this purpose.  The survey includes a prompt for you to upload a spreadsheet that you create.  

What is a "State Publication"?

Under AS 14.56.180, a "State Publication" is any "official document, compilation, journal, bill, law, resolution, bluebook, statute, code, register, pamphlet, list, book, report, study, hearing transcript, leaflet, order, regulation, directory, periodical, or magazine issued or contracted for by a state agency..."   Examples of publications include:

  • Annual or biennial reports
  • Audits
  • Brochures or pamphlets
  • Directories
  • Drafts of plans (published for public review
  • Environmental assessments and impact statements (draft and final)
  • Financial reports
  • Handbooks, guides, and manuals
  • Journals and magazines
  • Maps
  • Newsletters
  • Planning and evaluation reports
  • Posters
  • Research reports and studies
  • Standards
  • State or strategic plans
  • Statistical compilations

The following are NOT publications:

  • Contracts
  • Correspondence
  • Forms, stationary
  • Grant proposals, bids, RFPs
  • Notices of proposed rule adoption
  • Any publication intended for use only inside your agency