It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Statewide Library Electronic Doorway (SLED) was designed to support Alaskan's right to information. SLED provides easy subject access and links to various commercial databses, statewide services, adn stable, high-quality Web pages about Alaska and for Alaskans.
#800 Reference and ILL Assistance is a toll-free statewide service available to public and school librarians who need help answering reference questions and identifying library materials for interlibrary loan.
"Best Beginnings is a public-private partnership that mobilizes people and resources to ensure all Alaska children begin school ready to succeed through support from businesses, foundations, nonprofits, government, and individuals."
"The Screen Actors Guild Foundation records well-known actors reading children’s books and makes graphically dynamic videos so that children around the world can be read to with just the click of a Storyline Online video book image."
The Alaska State Library Talking Book Center is a cooperative effort between the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, the Alaska State Library, and the Utah State Library to provide Alaskans who cannot read standard print with talking books and Braille service.
"Provides free loan of described and captioned educational media. Clearinghouse of information related to educational media access and a gateway to Internet resources related to accessibility. Free registration and services."
O*NET OnLine is an occupational database that providing descriptions of job duties and wage ranges by state.
An excellent library in every community for every Alaskan.
Our Core Values:
Collaboration: We believe the pathway to sustainable and relevant libraries is through cooperation, collaboration and partnership.
Professionalism: We believe that libraries benefit when we model positive, respectful and forward-looking leadership. Library development staff are committed to developing our personal expertise through continuous learning.
Service: We believe that providing compassionate, equitable and responsive support to libraries fosters the development of a literate and empowered citizenry.
Each year, the Alaska State Library makes a basic starter kit of materials available to public libraries in Alaska that plan to offer a summer reading program to children, teens or adults in their communities.
Library Development staff are consultants who specialize in public and school libraries and areas of library management. Scroll down the list of Alaska State Library employees to find the contact information for Library Development staff. If we cannot answer your question, we will help you find someone who can.
Report instances of questioned materials which cannot be settled at library level to the chair of the Alaska Library Association Intellectual Freedom Committee, Mike Robinson in Anchorage, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
We purchase many practical books about library science with holdings in both the Anchorage office and in the general collection at the State Library in Juneau. These materials are available to check out. Look for titles by searching the Joint Library Catalog.
Alaska Online With Libraries (OWL) Program
Our mission is to provide all Alaskans with the benefits and opportunities that come hand in hand with high speed Internet. This includes areas such as e-government services, distance education opportunities and increased access to professional development.
"This handbook, prepared for nonprofit community associations organized under the state law known as the Alaska Nonprofit Corporation Act (Alaska Statute [AS] 10.20, provides board members and employees with the information they need to do their jobs. "
The Department of Labor and Workforce Development's Research and Analysis website has links to population, census, employment and unemployment data. The website also provides links to the current and archived editions of the Alaska Economic Trends magazine.
Alaska Mail Services/ Books-By-Mail Program
Alaska Mail Services provides library access to those living in Alaskan communities without public libraries or in communities with libraries that do not receive state funding. To learn more about Alaska Mail Services contact staff by phone (907) 586-5379, fax (907) 586-5383 or email email@example.com
AkLA website contains contact information for members of the Executive Council, Chapter, Committee and Roundtable Chairs. Also contains a link to the AkLA Handbook, library jobs in Alaska and scholarship information.
"Membership in the Pacific Northwest Library Association is open to anyone with an interest in the library and information profession."
Book Club in a Bag
Need multiple copies of a single title for a book discussion? Several libraries in Alaska offer Book Club in a Bag. Each bag contains 10 copies of a book, an author biography, discussion questions and book reviews. To identify available titles, search the JointLibrary Catalog for keywords book club bag, then request a bag through ILL.