This collection consists of abstracts of articles that were published in various periodicals from 1979 through 1990. The articles deal specifically with Alaskan interests and include very few items of national scope. The descriptions were drawn from a variety of sources.

Alaska Conservation Society papers. 1960-1993. The Alaska Conservation Society Records contain the publications, administrative records, and subject files generated from the Society's work on environmental issues in Alaska.

The Dixie M. Baade Papers are concerned with conservation and the environment in Alaska, especially in Southeast Alaska. The collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, brochures, legislative materials, and other documents covering such subjects as pollution, nuclear energy, mining, logging, pesticides, and land-use. The main geographic foci of the Baade papers are Ketchikan, Port Stewart, and Alaska's wilderness areas.

The Gerald E. Bowkett Papers consist of correspondence, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, reports, and photographs concerning major political and economic issues that faced Alaska in the 1960s and 1970s.

Joseph T. Flakne (1900-1999) was known as a conservationist and environmentalist. The collection includes material related to his activities related to natural resources and conservation in Alaska.

The Wayne C. Hanson Papers consist of a variety of materials relating to Dr. Hanson's research on fallout radionuclide concentrations in the tissues of plants, animals, and humans in northern Alaska and Greenland. Included are notes, data sheets, correspondence, reprints of articles authored by Hanson, and a copy of Hanson's dissertation titled "Fallout Strontium-90 and Cesium-137 in Northern Alaskan Ecosystems during 1959-1970." Also found in the collection are 43 photographs of Hanford Laboratories personnel and general views of Project Chariot activities taken in the Cape Thompson and Ogotoruk Creek regions of Alaska during the summers of 1959 and 1960.

The Celia Hunter and Ginny Wood Papers consist of reports, publications, newspaper clippings, correspondence, notes, and ephemera related to various topics in conservation and environmental policy, with a particular emphasis on Alaska.

The Inuit Circumpolar Conference Records consist of resolutions, workshop reports, and two papers generated by and for the Inuit Circumpolar Conference and Inuit Circumpolar Elders Conference held in Kotzebue, Alaska, 28 July through 3 August 1986. The resolutions and workshop reports focus upon social, cultural, economic, and environmental concerns of the circumpolar Inuit. The topic of the two papers is development of an Inuit regional conservation strategy. One of those papers includes inventories of the species of animals and plants harvested for subsistence by the Inuit.

The Northern Alaska Environmental Center Records contain administrative documents as well as subject files relating to the various environmental issues the Center has engaged in since its creation in 1971.

The Charlie Ott Papers reflect Ott's activities in photography and environmental conservation. Conservation Society materials and correspondence with Louise and Mardy (Margaret) Murie account for the bulk of the collection. Reprints, issues of The Living Wilderness, several photographs, and reports are also included.

The Harold R. Peyton Papers consist of lecture notes, scientific papers, and photographs dealing with problems in arctic engineering. The collection includes a series of photographs illustrating the construction of port facilities at Anchorage, Alaska, in 1966 and the ice damage they suffered over the winter of 1966/67. It also includes a draft copy (1971) of the environmental impact statement for the Trans-Alaska Pipeline.

This collection contains papers from the files of University of Alaska faculty members, Dr. Brina Kessel and Dr. Albert Johnson, including reports, correspondence, budgets and contracts, maps, news releases, and photographs, all generated from the environmental studies performed by University scientists for the AEC. Also included are the files on the project held by the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation.

The Stan Senner papers are generated from his work on the Alaska Lands Bill from 1975-1982, either in the capacity of his service for the Fairbanks Environmental Center, the Alaska Coalition, the Wilderness Society, or as a staff member for the Merchant Marine subcommittee of the U.S. House of Representatives.

This collection contains the field notes, correspondence, raw data, photographs, negatives, progress letters, and reports generated by the Project Chariot research on sea-cliff birds in the Point Hope area from 1959 to 1964.

Records of the Tanana Yukon Green Party, including by-laws and correspondence. There are also national and international publications, newsletters, and form letters.

The Richard W. Tindall Papers consist of appointment calendars, memorandum books, correspondence, reports, clippings, photographs, and slides related to Tindall's career in forestry and land management in Alaska.

These records are the files of the Arctic Project Office of OCSEAP, the Outer Continental Shelf Environmental Assessment Program sponsored jointly by NOAA and BLM. These materials were generated from the office's management of the program's research in the northern Alaskan regions and include bulletins, reports from research units, correspondence, budget and other financial records, program documents, and newspaper clippings.

The Leslie Viereck papers consist of correspondence and research files including reprints, pamphlets, speeches and presentations, newsclippings, notes and news releases. The materials relate to Project Chariot, the Atomic Energy Commission's plan to create a harbor at Cape Thompson, Alaska by the use of a nuclear detonation. Viereck's research files include materials on fallout, radioactive food chains and Project Chariot. Correspondence in the collection relates to Project Chariot and Cape Thompson in general, and also includes correspondence on radiation ecology and correspondence with and about fellow Project Chariot colleague Don C. Foote.

VH-4347 VIDEODISC. This program shows the difficulties of balancing the needs of indigenous peoples and the wilderness with economic development and modern life in the state of Alaska.

AAF-2466-AAF2495. Videos and Films from an environmental organization in Alaska. Click the link for list of individual items.

AAF-4967 FILM ARCHIVES. In the first segment, reporter Erik Eckholm examines the conflict between eagle habitat preservation and timber sales in the economically troubled Haines region.

AAF-4992 FILM ARCHIVES. Alaska Review explores Alaska's waste disposal problems, including concerns about the disposal of hazardous materials at a special waste site near Sterling, the growing population of the Municipality of Anchorage and the rapid filling of the landfill at Merrill Field, and the existence of hazardous wastes left behind by military outposts in Alaska.

AAF-6296 FILM ARCHIVES. Proponents and opponents of oil development in the Arctic National Wildlifr Refuge (ANWR) present reasons for their respective viewpoints. Rick Steiner of the University of Alaska Marine Advisory Program moderates the program featuring state senator Drue Pearce, AFL-CIO representative Mano Frey, environmental consultant Bob Childers, and Jack Hession of the Sierra Club.

AAF-211 FILM ARCHIVES. Presents the case for permitting oil and gas exploration and development within the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR) by demonstrating how Alaskan oil fields have been developed in past years in an environmentally sensitive manner with minimal impact upon animal habitat.

VH-5678 VIDEOTAPE. Distinguished panelists discuss the impact of Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs), along with other contaminants, on the Arctic environment and the Native subsistence lifestyle.

VH-5735 VIDEOTAPE. Contains information about environmental policy surrounding the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.

AAF-10124 is a program titled "Changing Arctic" about scientific research in the Arctic, and includes interviews with several scientists. The program explores the past and how research is conducted on the environment using modern technology. Produced by KUAC and UAF.

AAF-4256 FILM ARCHIVES. Discusses how to help clean up and monitor environmental conditions in rural Alaska.

AAF-3067 FILM ARCHIVES. The Northern Alaska Environmental Center and the Alaska Oil and Gas Association present their differing views on the future of ANWR in separately produced videos followed by a panel discussion.

30633 MOTION PICTURE PLASTIC BOX. To deliver Alaska's Prudhoe Bay oil to an ice-free port required a twelve-hundred kilometer "hot pipeline" across one of the world's most sensitive environments. Scientists, engineers and environmentalists met and overcame this challenge so that Alaska's oil would not be removed at the expense of the beauty and harmony of this great land.

VH-6408 VIDEOTAPE. A panel discussion of the toxic effects of contaminents on people and wildlife. By creating an international network of people who fight for health and justice Alaska Community Action on Toxics hopes to have a voice in treaties to ban persistent organic pollutants.

AAF-10478 FILM ARCHIVES. Examines the problems caused by the lack of adequate waste removal in certain rural Alaskan villages, such as Chevak and Emmonak.

VH-6402 VIDEOTAPE. An interview with elder Annie Alowa, from the Yu'pik village of Savoonga on Saint Lawrence Island. Annie worked to raise awareness and action about the environmental and health effects of a military toxic site at NE Cape on the Island.

AAF-158 FILM ARCHIVES. Summary: Film looks at environmental impact of oil drilling in Alaska. Images include coastlines, oil drilling camps, drilling platforms, OCSEAP personnel describing program, sea mammals and aircraft.

VH-885 VIDEOTAPE. Examines how the oil industry alters its operations to accommodate the Arctic environment. Program two outlines the oil spill prevention and response measures Alyeska is currently implementing.

AAF-13435 -- AAF-13438. Videos from a class class on how to measure and analyze different aspects of water quality.

AAF-1386 FILM ARCHIVES. Program talks about impact of offshore oil well drilling on fisheries. Gulf of Mexico drilling rigs that serve as artificial reefs, large fish harvest after Santa Barbara oil spill, and University of Washington study that spilled oil doesn't interfere with salmon's ability to navigate are featured. Oil spill prevention on the part of the oil industry is discussed. The oil industry's efforts to minimize other undesirable impacts on local communities are discussed. Program ends by emphasizing that oil spills have not caused long term damage to the environment.

AAF-20820 -- AAF-20826 FILM ARCHIVES. AAF-20820: “Voyage to the Arctic” is a 1977 film that is part of the “Our Natural Environment Series.” It explains the Arctic’s natural resources, wildlife, geology, and Indigenous peoples. Specific topics include oyster and clam harvesting, Mitlenatch Island and the birds on it, herring fishing, the Inside Passage, marine highways, the climate, glaciers, ice fields, Skagway and its history, totem poles, porpoises, black bears, and whales. AAF-20821: “Arctic Borderlands in Winter” explores the different climate regions in northern Canada, its people, and wildlife. Special attention is paid to the taiga, the tundra, the climate, flora, pine finches, hairy woodpeckers, goshawks, ptarmigans, caribou, otters, fur trapping, sled dogs, Eskimos, Indians, housing, and transportation.

The Alaska Stakeholders and Climate Change Project Jukebox was designed to bring rural community members from Tanana, Fort Yukon, and Chalkyitsik, Alaska together with scientists at the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) to discuss climate and environmental conditions and the impact these changes have on the subsistence livelihoods of people.

The Climate Change Project Jukebox contains oral history interviews Alaska Native elders sharing their experiences with climate change and how it has affected life in their communities. The project also includes a presentation from scientist Matthew Sturm.

The Dangerous Ice Project Jukebox is a National Science Foundation funded project at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. The goal is to understand changing ice conditions on the Tanana River through the combined knowledge of scientists and experienced local river travelers.

The Land Use and Environmental Change, Selawik National Wildlife Refuge Project Jukebox contains interviews with elders in the community of Selawik, Alaska talking about the history of land use and environmental conditions on the Selawik Refuge in the early to mid-20th century

This project includes oral history recordings of residents of northern Alaska talking about sea ice conditions, observations over time, and changes that are occurring.

Observing Change in Alaska’s National Parks Project Jukebox. This project contains oral history interviews with long-time residents of Skagway, Alaska talking about their observations of environmental change in and around Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park, and with National Park Service employees and residents of Nome, Alaska discussing the changing environment in and around Bering Land Bridge National Preserve.