The Public Library Annual Report period is now open, find the Public Libraries Annual Report online. Reports are due by September 1. Alaska Digital Library statistics are available on the ALN website.
New information to be reported starting in July 2024.
New Questions
|
Indicator |
Definition |
Notes |
|
Automatic Renewal of Physical Materials |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did your library offer automatic renewal for any physical materials during the reporting period?” If unknown, report <M>issing.
NOTE: Patrons do not have to take any action for automatic renewals. The Integrated Library System [ILS] rules determine how/when automatic renewals occur. |
|
|
- |
||
|
ELECTRONIC BOOKS |
||
|
E-books are the digital equivalent of printed books that may be accessed online from an electronic device. E-books also include e-comics. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain when answering the following questions. |
||
|
E-Books via AE |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-books purchased solely by the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
Administrative Entity is your library system |
|
E-Books via Collective |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-books purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, regional, or state level?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
E-Books via State |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-books provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
-ELECTRONIC SERIALS |
||
|
E-serials are periodic digital publications equivalent to printed newspapers, magazines, and similar media that are viewed as entire issues rather than as single articles returned from a research query. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain when answering the following questions. |
||
|
E-Serials via AE |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-serials purchased solely by the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
Administrative Entity is your library system |
|
E-Serials via Collective |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-serials purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, regional, or state level?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
E-Serials via State |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-serials provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
-ELECTRONIC AUDIO |
||
|
E-audio are digital files of sound only (e.g., audiobooks, music) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain when answering the following questions. |
||
|
E-Audio via AE |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-audio purchased solely by the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
Administrative Entity is your library system |
|
E-Audio via Collective |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-audio purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, regional, or state level?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
E-Audio via State |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-audio provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
-ELECTRONIC VIDEO |
||
|
E-videos are digital files of moving visual images with or without sound (e.g., movies, television shows) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. Do not consider resources available for free in the public domain when answering the following questions. |
||
|
E-Video via AE |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-videos purchased solely by the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
Administrative Entity is your library system |
|
E-Video via Collective |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-videos purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local,regional, or state level?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
E-Video via State |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to e-videos provided by the state library agency or another state agency at no or minimal cost to the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
RESEARCH DATABASES |
||
|
Research databases are organized collections of electronic data or records (e.g., facts, abstracts, articles, bibliographic data, texts, photographs) that can be searched to retrieve information. Do not consider resources available for free when answering the following questions. |
||
|
Research Databases via AE |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to research databases purchased solely by the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
Administrative Entity is your library system |
|
Research Databases via Collective |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to research databases purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, regional, or state level?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
Research Databases via State |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to research databases provided by the state library or another entity at no or minimal cost to the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
-ONLINE LEARNING PLATFORMS |
||
|
Online learning platforms primarily provide instruction, tools, and resources to enhance education, lifelong learning, and skill building. Platforms may offer homework assistance, language learning, test preparation, professional development, resume assistance, hobby instruction, etc. Do not consider resources available for free when answering the following questions. |
||
|
Online Learning Platforms via AE |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to online learning platforms purchased solely by the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
Online Learning Platforms via Collective |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to online learning platforms purchased via a consortium, cooperative, or other similar group at the local, regional, or state level?” |
|
|
Online Learning Platforms via State |
Answer <Y>es or <N>o to the following question: “Did the administrative entity provide access to online learning platforms provided by the state library or another entity at no or minimal cost to the administrative entity?” If unknown, report <M>issing. |
|
|
-E-MATERIAL CIRCULATION |
||
|
Electronic (digital) materials can be accessed online from an electronic device. Types of electronic materials include e-books, e-serials, e-audio, and e-video. Only count items that require user authentication and have a limited period of use. Count all checkouts, including renewals. |
||
|
E-book Circulation |
The total circulation of e-books during the reporting period. E-books are the digital equivalent of printed books that may be accessed online from an electronic device. E-books also include e-comics. If unknown, report <-1>. |
|
|
E-serial Circulation |
The total circulation of e-serials during the reporting period. E-serials are periodic digital publications equivalent to printed newspapers, magazines, and similar media that are viewed as entire issues rather than as single articles returned from a research query. If unknown, report <-1>. |
|
|
E-audio Circulation |
The total circulation of e-audio during the reporting period. E-audio are digital files of sound only (e.g., audiobooks, music) that may be accessed online from an electronic device. If unknown, report <-1>. |
|
|
E-video Circulation |
The total circulation of e-videos during the reporting period. E-videos are digital files of moving visual images (e.g., movies, television shows) with or without sound that may be accessed online from an electronic device. If unknown, report <-1>. |
|
|
Circulation of Children’s Physical Material |
The total annual circulation of all children’s materials in all physical formats to all users, including renewals. Include circulation of other physical items for children (e.g., kits, games, technology). If possible, do not include materials for teens/young adults. If unknown, report <-1>. |
|
Revised Questions
|
Indicator |
Definition |
Notes |
|
11.9 Electronic Content Expenditures |
Report all operating expenditures for electronic (digital) content. Include expenditures for electronic content for which the library has acquired permanent or temporary access rights. Include fees paid to platforms that provide licensed content. Electronic content can be accessed online from an electronic device. Types of electronic content include electronic materials (e-books, e-serials, e-audio, e-video), research databases, online learning platforms, reference tools, scores, maps, and pictures in electronic or digital format. Note: Expenditures for computer software used to support library operations or to link to external networks, including the Internet, are reported under Other Operating Expenditures |
Removes language about CD-ROM, diskettes and other tangible digital media |
|
11.12 Other Physical Materials Expenditures |
Report all operating expenditures for other materials, such as microform, audio and video physical units, DVD, circulating portable electronic devices, and materials in new formats |
Adds language about tangible digital media including DVDs and portable electronic materials |
|
8.6 Total Reference Transactions |
Reference Transactions are information consultations in which library staff recommend, interpret, evaluate, and/or use information resources to help others to meet particular information needs. Reference transactions do not include formal instruction or exchanges that provide assistance with locations, schedules, equipment, supplies, or policy statements.
NOTES: (1) A reference transaction includes information and referral service, scheduled and unscheduled individual instruction and assistance in using information sources (including websites and computer-assisted instruction). (2) Count Readers Advisory questions as reference transactions. (3) Information sources include (a) printed and nonprinted material; (b) machine-readable databases (including computer-assisted instruction); (c) the library’s own catalogs and other holdings records; (d) other libraries and institutions through communication or referral; and (e) persons both inside and outside the library. (4) When a staff member uses information gained from previous use of information sources to answer a question, the transaction is reported as a reference transaction even if the source is not consulted again. (5) If a contact includes both reference and directional services, it should be reported as one reference transaction. (6) Duration should not be an element in determining whether a transaction is a reference transaction. (7) Do not include transactions that include only a directional service, such as instruction for locating staff, library users, or physical features within the library. Examples of directional transactions include, “Where is the reference librarian? Where is Susan Smith? Where is the rest room? Where are the 600s? Can you help me make a photocopy?” Annual Count vs. Annual Estimate If an annual count of reference transactions is unavailable, count reference transactions during a typical week or weeks, and multiply the count to represent an annual estimate. A “typical week” is a time that is neither unusually busy nor unusually slow. Avoid holiday times, vacation periods for key staff, or days when unusual events are taking place in the community or in the library. Choose a week in which the library is open its regular hours. Example: If there are four weeks sampled, multiply the totals for those four weeks by 13 to get an estimate for the full year. If the sample is done twice a year (one week at each time, two weeks total) multiply the count by 26 to get the estimated annual count. |
Efforts to thoroughly clarify what does and does not qualify as a reference transaction |
|
Total Number of Asynchronous Program Presentations |
Asynchronous program presentations are recorded videos or audio of program content that are posted online for downloading or on-demand viewing (rather than livestreaming). Only include program presentations posted during the reporting period. Include live program sessions that are recorded and posted online. Count each unique video or audio recording only once regardless of the number of platforms on which it is posted. Do not duplicate numbers at each branch; count only at the administrative entity level. |
Clarification of what programming is to be counted as asynchronous |
|
Total Views of Asynchronous Program Presentations within 30 Days |
Report the count of views or plays of asynchronous program presentations for a period of thirty (30) days after the presentation was posted, even if that period extends beyond the survey reporting period (or fiscal year). For program presentations made available via Facebook, count unique 1-minute views of each video. For other platforms, count unique views or plays of each video or audio recording. |
Clarification of what attendance should be counted as asynchronous |
Deleted Questions
• 7-2 Electronic Books
• 7-4 Audio - Downloadable Units
• 7-6 Video - Downloadable Units
• 7-8 Local/Other Cooperative Agreements
• 7-8 State (state government or state library)
• 7-8 Total Electronic Collections
• 9-12 Successful Retrieval of Electronic Information
• 9-14 Electronic Content Use
• 9-16 Total Collection Use
• 13-6 Website Visits
Circulation of Children's Materials is replaced with “Circulation of Children’s Physical Material.” See above under New Questions.
